UA System President Announces Committee to Aid in Chancellor Search

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — University of Arkansas System President Donald R. Bobbitt has named a search committee to assist in finding the next chancellor at the University of Arkansas.

Interim Chancellor Charles F. Robinson has been leading the campus since he was appointed by Bobbitt in August 2021.

The committee, which includes faculty, staff and supporters of the university, will advise Bobbitt as he considers candidates to serve as the next chief executive of the UA System's flagship campus. Bobbitt will ultimately recommend a candidate to the Board of Trustees of the University of Arkansas for final approval.

"While the U of A continues to excel under Dr. Robinson's leadership, it is time to take the necessary steps to begin a national search to ensure the university is on solid footing to move into the future behind a permanent leader," Bobbitt said. "I'm confident that this search will produce world-class talent and that the right person will emerge in the end to best serve the campus, community and all stakeholders involved in making our flagship institution the best it can be."

The committee will begin its work in the coming weeks to advertise the position and recruit high-quality indviduals from across the country to consider the opportunity. A search webpage hosted by the university will also be developed as a reference for candidates and a hub for search-related news. More information will be available soon after the committee's initial meetings.

Chaired by Kim Needy, dean of the College of Engineering, the search committee members include representatives from key constituencies, campus faculty, staff, alumni, a physician from another UA System institution and a member of the Board of Trustees, among others.

"I am grateful to each of these busy individuals for agreeing to take part in our search process," Bobbitt said. "While these committee members will bring an array of voices to the search, we will also have a phase later in the process where all members of the campus community, including students, can provide feedback regarding candidates. I am looking forward to working with everyone at the university to find the very best person to lead the institution for years to come."

The committee includes:

  • Kim Needy, committee chair and dean of the College of Engineering
  • Paul Adams, professor of chemistry and biochemistry
  • Alena Allen, interim dean, School of Law
  • Lowry Barnes, professor and chair, UAMS Department of Orthopaedics
  • Chuck Culver, interim vice president for agriculture
  • Ross DeVol, president and CEO, Heartland Forward
  • Clayton Hamilton, chief financial officer, Department of Athletics
  • Melissa Harwood-Rom, interim vice chancellor for student affairs and dean of students
  • Bill Kincaid, managing associate general counsel
  • Jinoh Park, assistant professor of interior design
  • Alan Mantooth, distinguished professor of electrical engineering
  • Suzanne McCray, vice provost for enrollment and dean of admissions
  • Debbie McLoud, associate vice chancellor for human resources
  • Katy Nelson-Ginder, associate vice chancellor for university development
  • Sheffield Nelson, UA Board of Trustees
  • Molly Rapert, associate professor of marketing
  • Mary Savin, chair, Faculty Senate
  • Donald Walker, president-elect, Arkansas Alumni Association
  • Trish Watkins, chair, Staff Senate

Ex officio members

  • Donald R. Bobbitt, UA System president
  • Ben Beaumont, UA System staff

Nate Hinkel, director of communications
University of Arkansas System


Engineering Researcher Part of USDA Project Quantifying 'Climate-Smart' Rice Production

Associate professor Benjamin Runkle is part of a group that received a five-year, $80 million U.S. Department of Agriculture award aimed at reducing greenhouse gas emission associated with rice production.

Stop Scammers and Recognize Phishing Attempts

Phishing is the attempt to get passwords, university data, personal information or access to university systems by sending emails or text messages that appear to come from a trustworthy source.

Josie Bates Named Rose Law Firm 200th Anniversary Pro Bono Fellow

Dean Cynthia Nance has named Josie Bates the 2022-23 Rose Law Firm's 200th Anniversary Pro Bono Fellow at the U of A School of Law. 

Creative Writing and Translation Alumni and Graduate Student Receive Artists 360 Awards

Alumni of the Creative Writing and Translation Program — Brody Parrish Craig and Sabine Schmidt — have been awarded project grants, and M.F.A. student Lily Buday has been awarded a student grant award.

Serve-In Movie at UREC Tennis Center Wednesday

University Programs and University Recreation invite students to play tennis and watch the drama "King Richard" at 6 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 5, at the UREC Tennis Center.

News Daily