Industrial Engineering Student Honor Society Chapter Receives National Award

The U of A Chapter of Alpha Pi Mu in Industrial Engineering has been selected as the second-place winner of the Outstanding Chapter award from the National Headquarters.

The award recognizes the chapter's activities in three categories: chapter and university activities, betterment of the field of industrial engineering and betterment of the national society.

Activities of the 2020-2021 chapter were led by the following elected officers: Madeline Suellentrop, president; Parker Tankersley, vice president; Jaclyn Walls, treasurer; Natalia Sandhu, secretary; Lawson Porter, media chair; Esteban Lopez, historian; and Lauren Law, social chair. The chapter was also supported by faculty adviser Kelly Sullivan and staff liaison Carrie Pennington.

 "Our chapter is extremely pleased to receive this recognition," Sullivan said. "I am thankful for the outstanding officers whose hard work and leadership made this recognition possible."

With the pandemic limiting interactions, many of the chapter's usual activities became more challenging. Despite these challenges, the chapter facilitated a variety of service events, networking activities and training opportunities for students in the department. With other universities facing similar challenges, the chapter collaborated with chapters at Virginia Tech and the University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez to organize a number of virtual events, including the first ever nationwide retreat for student officers of Alpha Pi Mu.

The Alpha Pi Mu Honor Society was started at Georgia Tech in 1949 and gained full membership in the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS) in 1959. Alpha Pi Mu is the only nationally accepted industrial engineering honor society, due to its affiliation with ACHS. Chapters now exist in almost every major university and accredited engineering program.

At the U of A, Alpha Pi Mu was chartered in 1956. The charter members included: John L. Imhoff, founding department head at the U of A; Palmer Terrell, past scholarship chair and Charter Member of the Arkansas Academy of Industrial Engineering; and William L. Cravens, banker, former chair of Alltel Information Systems and Arkansas Business Hall of Fame inductee.

The chapter boasts many accolades over the years, receiving first place in the Outstanding Chapter competition on multiple occasions. Students of industrial engineering at the U of A are routinely selected for outstanding scholarships and recognitions by the national group.


Tamara O. Ellenbecker, website developer
Department of Industrial Engineering

Christin Finney, digital communications specialist
College of Engineering


Williams Named 2021 AAAED President's Award Recipient

The American Association for Access, Equity and Diversity, the oldest operating association of professionals in equal opportunity profession, named Danielle Williams the recipient of the President's Award.

Gary Jackson Selected as November's Student Leader of the Month

Sophomore Gary Jackson has been selected as the Student Leader of the Month for November 2021. Originally from Pocahontas, Arkansas, Gary came to the U of A to study biology and chemistry.

AECT Graduate Student Analyzes Dissonance Between Eating Habits and Religious Views

Karli Stringer, a graduate student, examined the relationship between nutritional habits and religious views for her master's thesis, finding that Christian beliefs didn't necessarily translate to healthy eating.

Full Circle Food Pantry 10th Birthday Collaborative Cookbook Is Here

The food pantry's cookbook is available digitally or as a physical copy for a donation of $25 or more. A donation of $50 or more will also sponsor a holiday meal kit for a client of the pantry.

Students Advocating Stronger Sisterhood Holiday Canned Food Drive

Students Advocating Stronger Sisterhood will host a canned food drive from noon to 2 p.m., Monday, Dec. 6, in front of the Food Court at the Arkansas Student Union.

News Daily