ITE Student Chapter Earns Victory at Traffic Bowl

Top row, from left: Mir Ali and Mariah Crews; bottom: Sanjeev Bhurtyal and Simon Rothwell.
Photos Submitted

Top row, from left: Mir Ali and Mariah Crews; bottom: Sanjeev Bhurtyal and Simon Rothwell.

At the spring 2021 meeting of the Missouri Valley District of the Institute of Transportation Engineers (MOVITE), teams from the University of Arkansas, Washington University and the University of Kansas competed in the annual Traffic Bowl. This was the inaugural competition of this “Jeopardy” style quiz game, witnessed by more than two hundred professional MOVITE chapter members.

The Arkansas team, mentored by civil engineering assistant professor Sarah Hernandez, consisted of undergraduates Mir Ali, Mariah Crews, Simon Rothwell, and Ph.D. student Sanjeev Bhurtyal. Along with their victory in the Traffic Bowl, the team tied for 1st place with their chapter video submission. The video can be viewed on YouTube.

In addition to the team recognition, civil engineering student Mariah Crews has been awarded the Jan Kibbe Student Scholarship and civil engineering assistant professor Sarah Hernandez has been named the Patrick T. McCoy Educator Professional of the Year.

Due to COVID restrictions the MOVITE spring meeting was held virtually. The Traffic Bowl competition can be viewed on YouTube. With their victory in the Traffic Bowl, this team of traffic engineers will next compete at the upcoming ITE National Meeting, which due to COVID protocols will also be held virtually.

The Institute of Transportation Engineers is the professional society of persons engaged in the planning, design and operation of streets, highways, and other transportation facilities. The Missouri Valley District, consisting of members from Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and Oklahoma, was chartered in 1951 with the University of Arkansas chapter joining in 1993.


Sarah Hernandez, assistant professor
Department of Civil Engineering

Mike Emery, media specialist
Department of Civil Engineering


Steinmetz to Conclude Service as Chancellor

Steinmetz cited a belief in the mission of higher education and said he was leaving campus well-positioned.

Human Resource Development Faculty Edit Special Journal Devoted to Career Shifts After COVID-19

A collaboration between professors Claretha Hughes and Yuanlu Niu and doctoral student Shana Yarberry resulted in a special issue of Advances in Development Human Resources.

NSF Recognizes 10 U Of A Students and Recent Alumni

Elizabeth Bullard, Erin Farmer, William Kirkpatrick, Kathleen McClanahan, Meagan Olsen, Joshua Porter and Amanda Walls received NSF Graduate Research Fellowships.

World Trade Center Arkansas President and CEO Announces Retirement

W. Dan Hendrix, president and chief executive officer of the World Trade Center Arkansas and associate vice chancellor, has announced his retirement as of June 30.

Free Job Training and Job-Search Help Available for Arkansans

Qualified Arkansans can leverage free job training to help in returning to or advancing in the workforce, thanks to a federal grant of more than $13.5 million.

News Daily