Four Fulbright College Honors Program Graduates Receive 2020 Hantz Awards

Clockwise from top right: Kathryn Judy, Winson Chee, Jake Price and Anna Cunningham.
Photo Submitted

Clockwise from top right: Kathryn Judy, Winson Chee, Jake Price and Anna Cunningham.

For the past 65 years, students in the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences who wanted more rigorous and unique courses to complement their educational goals have turned to the Fulbright College Honors Program.

And each year, the students who most embody the academic excellence of the program are selected to receive its highest honor — the Harold D. Hantz Awards and accompanying endowment. This year's honorees include:

  • Kathryn Judy, Harold D. Hantz College Scholars Award
  • Winson Chee, Harold D. Hantz College Scholars Award
  • Jake Price, Harold D. Hantz Departmental Scholars Award
  • Anna Cunningham, Margaret Kirby Hantz Service Award

Named for philosophy professor Harold D. Hantz, who along with English professor Ben Kimpel founded the first honors program at the University of Arkansas in 1955, the awards are given to those who have continued Hantz's legacy through their scholarship. Including the Fulbright College Honors Program, there are now six honors programs at the U of A, united under the Honors College.

Every year, the top graduate in each Fulbright College honors track — College Scholars and Departmental Scholars — is recognized with a Hantz Award, and students who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to the college and university are awarded the Margaret Kirby Hantz Service award, in honor of Harold Hantz's sister.

"We are incredibly proud of each of these scholars," said Kirstin Erickson, director of the Fulbright College Honors Program. "They all finished so strong in a very unusual and challenging year and have already accomplished so much! We know each has so many more exciting adventures ahead of them, and we can't wait to see what they achieve next!"

Learn more about each awardee by visiting the Fulbright College Honors Program online and it's Harold D. Hantz Award page.


Andra Parrish Liwag, director of communications
J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences


Pryor Center Presents Lisa M. Corrigan: 'Feeling Riots: The Emotional Language of Urban Rebellion'

Lisa M. Corrigan, professor of communication, will give the first of four lectures focusing on racism, social justice, and policing hosted by the Pryor Center. It will be at 6 p.m. Thursday.

UA Rome Center to Provide Student Access to NASA Leader's Event

Douglas Terrier, chief technologist for NASA, will discuss space technologies at 11:30 a.m. CDT Sept. 23. U of A students will have access to hear the discussion through the university's Rome Center.

Register Now for Mary Gentile's Talk, Part of 'Let's Talk About Integrity and Race'

Mary Gentile, author of Giving Voice to Values, will speak via Zoom at 6 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 29, as part of the Let's Talk About Integrity and Race program.

Landscape Architecture Professor Appointed Visiting Professor, Wins Sustainability Award

Carl Smith will be a visiting professor at the University of Sheffield School of Architecture. He was also awarded the 2020 Green Medal Sustainability Award by Garden Communicators International.

U of A Greek Life Participates in National Hazing Prevention Week "Reshaping the Process"

University of Arkansas Greek Life will offer a variety of programs and activities to inform the Greek community on the dangers of hazing.

News Daily