College of Engineering Celebrates Student Award Winners

The College of Engineering is proud to recognize the class of 2020 student award winners.

Congratulations to the winners:

College of Engineering Outstanding Senior: Eleanor Grace Henson

Enjoy a special message from Eleanor here:

Outstanding Seniors by Department

Biological and Agricultural Engineering: Eleanor Grace Henson

Biomedical Engineering: Samia Ismail

Ralph E. Martin Department of Chemical Engineering: Ashley Cox

Computer Engineering: Suhail Basalama

Computer Science: Austin Kreulach

Civil Engineering: Julia Loshelder

Electrical Engineering: Kaleb Kassaw

Industrial Engineering: Alexandra Gentile

Mechanical Engineering: Nicholas Drake Broadbent

Senior Scholars

The college recognized four First-Ranked Senior Scholars who received a 4.0 grade point average on all coursework completed at the U of A:

  • Ayumi Fujii
  • Ryan J. Jennings
  • Megan Chiau Hoong Kueh
  • Chris Nguyen Phu

Seven students were honored as U of A Senior Scholars, who received a 4.0 grade point average on all course work, including some transfer work:

  • Suhail Basalama
  • Brandon Sean Cox
  • Austin J. Davis
  • Clayton Timothy Ferguson
  • Adam B. Goertz
  • Kevin Karlton Haney
  • Casey T. Lindbloom

Each year, the university recognizes one student in each undergraduate school and college, and one law student, as a Presidential Scholar. The award is based on academic achievement. This year's Presidential Scholar for the College of Engineering is Daniel Voss.

The College of Engineering recognized five students with the Porter Stone Coop Award, which recognizes excellence in cooperative education. Recipients were:

  • Andrew Buck
  • Sherill Choong
  • Zechariah Hogarth
  • Steven Mitchell
  • Jean Roca

Nick DeMoss, director of communications
College of Engineering


Steinmetz to Conclude Service as Chancellor

Steinmetz cited a belief in the mission of higher education and said he was leaving campus well-positioned.

Human Resource Development Faculty Edit Special Journal Devoted to Career Shifts After COVID-19

A collaboration between professors Claretha Hughes and Yuanlu Niu and doctoral student Shana Yarberry resulted in a special issue of Advances in Development Human Resources.

NSF Recognizes 10 U Of A Students and Recent Alumni

Elizabeth Bullard, Erin Farmer, William Kirkpatrick, Kathleen McClanahan, Meagan Olsen, Joshua Porter and Amanda Walls received NSF Graduate Research Fellowships.

World Trade Center Arkansas President and CEO Announces Retirement

W. Dan Hendrix, president and chief executive officer of the World Trade Center Arkansas and associate vice chancellor, has announced his retirement as of June 30.

Free Job Training and Job-Search Help Available for Arkansans

Qualified Arkansans can leverage free job training to help in returning to or advancing in the workforce, thanks to a federal grant of more than $13.5 million.

News Daily