Four Animal Science Faculty Present at Conferences, ASAS Midwest Section

Dr. Zhao speaking at the inaugural Charles Maxwell Appreciation Club Symposium.
Dept. of Animal Science

Dr. Zhao speaking at the inaugural Charles Maxwell Appreciation Club Symposium.

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Four Animal Science faculty members presented at various conferences, meetings and during the 2020 ASAS Midwest Section throughout February and into early March.

John Jennings presented at the Arkansas Forage and Grassland Council meeting on Thursday, Feb.13, held in Conway. He discussed techniques for managing nitrogen in grass/legume systems.

Shane Gadberry spoke to a standing-room only crowd at the River Valley Beef Conference on Tuesday, Feb. 18, in Ozark, Ark. He discussed GoGreen and other value-added programs.

Jiangchao Zhao presented at the inaugural Charles Maxwell Appreciation Club Symposium on early pig health and nutrition held during the 2020 ASAS Midwest Section / ADSA Midwest Branch Joint Meeting from March 2-4 in Omaha, Neb. Zhao discussed how early-life modulation of the gut microbiome has long-term effects on swine health and production.

Department of Animal Science head, Michael Looper, spoke to a full house at the first Area Conference on Tuesday, March 3, held in Batesville. He provided information about the division, the statewide heifer sale and the struggles of producers that the university is conducting research around. The University of Arkansas, Division of Agriculture, Department of Animal Science is serving as a signature sponsor for the nine ACA Area Spring Conferences.


Bryan M. Rhodes, administrative specialist II
Department of Animal Science


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily