Students Attend American Pre-Veterinary Medical Association Symposium

Members of the Pre-Vet club alongside faculty advisor, Jeremy Powell.
Animal Science Pre-Vet Club

Members of the Pre-Vet club alongside faculty advisor, Jeremy Powell.

In early March, 13 members of the Pre-Veterinary Club, along with two faculty advisors, Jeremy Powell and Lauren Thomas, traveled to Virginia Tech University to participate in the 2020 American Pre-Veterinary Medical Association Symposium. 

Hosted by a different school each year, the annual symposium typically draws approximately 500 pre-veterinary students from all over the nation. During this year's two-day event, our students had the opportunity to attended lectures presented by veterinary professionals, participate in hands-on wet labs and meet and greet with veterinary admissions counselors from all over the nation, including international schools! As an added bonus, our students capitalized on the long drive to Virginia Tech by stopping in Knoxville, Tennessee. to tour the University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine. 

All students agree, that while the drive to and from Virginia was rather arduous, the value of the experience was well worth all the effort!


Bryan M. Rhodes, administrative specialist II
Department of Animal Science


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily