Faculty and Graduate Students: University Has Joined NCFDD as Institutional Member

The University of Arkansas has joined the National Center for Faculty Development & Diversity as an institutional member. The center is a nationally recognized, independent organization that provides online career development and mentoring resources for faculty, post-docs, and graduate students.

They provide a variety of virtual programs and resources including:

  • Weekly Monday Motivator

  • Monthly Core Curriculum Webinars

  • Monthly Guest Expert Webinars

  • Access to Multi-Week Courses

  • Access to Dissertation Success Curriculum for graduate students

  • Private Discussion Forum for peer-mentoring, problem-solving, and moderated writing challenges

  • Monthly accountability buddy matches

  • Access to 14-Day Writing Challenges [next one begins March 19; sign up after you activate your account]  

  • Access to the Member Library that includes past webinar materials, referrals, and readings

To claim your free institutional membership, complete the following steps:

  1. Go to www.facultydiversity.org/join
  2. Choose your institution from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select "Activate my Membership"
  4. Complete the registration form using your institutional email address (i.e. @uark.edu)
  5. Go to your institution email to find a confirmation/welcome email. Click "Activate Account" in the email.

If you have any questions about the membership, please contact: Kathryn A. Sloan, vice provost for faculty affairs, at facdev@uark.edu. If you have any technical questions, please email NCFDD at Membership@FacultyDiversity.org.

Membership to NCFDD was made possible by the offices of the Chancellor, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation, Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion, the Graduate School, and the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs.



Kathryn Ann Sloan, vice provost for faculty affairs
Office of Faculty Affairs
479-575-5887, ksloan@uark.edu

John Post, director of academic communications
University Relations
479-575-5555, johnpost@uark.edu


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily