Mathematics Professor Honored With Distinguished Teaching Award

Samantha Robinson, teaching assistant professor, presenting at Teaching Camp 2019.

Samantha Robinson, teaching assistant professor, presenting at Teaching Camp 2019.

Samantha Robinson, teaching assistant professor in the Department of Mathematical Sciences in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, has been awarded the 2020 OK-AR Mathematical Association of America's Section Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics.

The award honors college or university teachers whose instruction is influential beyond their own institution and fosters excitement about mathematics in their students.

Recently, Robinson led a group of student researchers at the Arkansas Bioinformatics Consortium 2020 where the students received top awards in their categories. Many of the projects will be presented again at UA Research Week this April.

She has also drafted the Arkansas Course Transfer System learning objectives for Principles of Statistics. This directly impacts all 2-year and 4-year institutions in Arkansas and moves the state in a forward direction in the teaching of statistics.

The Arkansas Council of Teachers of Mathematics statistics contest exams have been written by Robinson for several years, which has helped to shape the teaching of high school statistics (especially Advanced Placement courses) in Arkansas as well. 

Robinson has been teaching in the Department of Mathematical Sciences in a variety of different roles for approximately 10 years, with her first full-time teaching appointment in 2013. She completed her Ph.D. at the University of Arkansas in 2017.

This is the first time a University of Arkansas faculty member has received the MAA Section Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics since professor emeritus Allan Cochran was recognized in 1993. 

The award will be presented on the evening of Friday, April 3, at the banquet of the annual Oklahoma-Arkansas MAA meeting. The ceremony will be held in the Garden Room on Dickson Street. Prior registration is required to attend.

Robinson is now nominated for the National MAA Haimo Award. Recipients of this national award receive $1,000 and a certificate of recognition for their achievements. She would be one of three college or university teachers to be presented the award in 2021 if selected.


Skyler Gambert, student support specialist
Department of Mathematical Sciences

Andra Parrish Liwag, director of communications
J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily