Staff Senate Announces Spring 2020 Scholarship Recipients

Spring 2020 Scholarship winners Savannah Hall, Austin Hudson, Breanna Lacy and Jessica Robinson.
Staff Senate

Spring 2020 Scholarship winners Savannah Hall, Austin Hudson, Breanna Lacy and Jessica Robinson.

The University of Arkansas Staff Senate is excited to announce the recipients of the spring 2020 Staff Senate Scholarships. This spring's recipients are Savannah Hall, Austin Hudson, Breanna Lacy and Jessica Robinson.

The Staff Senate Scholarship is intended to support campus staff in their continued undergrad and graduate education. This spring's recipients have been awarded a total of $250 each. The recipients were recognized and presented with certificates on Tuesday, Feb. 18, in the Union Ballroom.

About the Staff Senate Endowed Scholarship: The Staff Senate Scholarship was founded in 2000 with funds for one scholarship. The Staff Senate annually awards at least three need-based scholarships — the Rick A. Haley Memorial Scholarship, the Barbara G. Taylor Scholarship, and the Susan Imes Yell Scholarship. Thanks to support from the campus community, there have been more than 150 scholarships awarded to staff pursuing their education.

The scholarships were created to promote and encourage staff development through higher education in undergraduate and graduate studies. Applicants must be 100 percent appointed, full-time University of Arkansas staff employees for at least one year before the scholarship deadline and demonstrate financial need. Additional criteria are listed on the Staff Senate website.

The Staff Senate is an employee group on the University of Arkansas campus whose primary function is to work with university administrators to address staff concerns related to the quality of work life on campus. The Staff Senate represents nearly 3,600 employees on the Fayetteville campus.


EmmaLe Davis, chair, Scholarship Committee
Staff Senate


Arkansas Alumni Association to Focus on Innovative Programs and Critical Conversations

The Arkansas Alumni Association is pivoting its focus this year and creating new and innovative programs to better connect and serve University of Arkansas alumni.

Need a Laugh? Join Eta Sigma Phi and the Classical Studies Program for a Virtual Reading of Lysistrata

The Eta Sigma Phi Classics Honors Society and Classical Studies Program will stage a virtual live reading of Aristophanes' famous anti-war comedy, Lysistrata, from 7-9 p.m. this Saturday.

Researchers to Develop Detection Technology

Samir El-Ghazaly, professor of electrical engineering, and his team received a $400,000 grant to develop analysis tools for high-frequency electronic components, integrated circuits and radiating systems.

Pryor Center Presents 'Feeling Riots: The Emotional Language of Urban Rebellion'

The first of four lectures focusing on racism, social justice, and policing hosted by the Pryor Center. Corrigan's lecture will be held virtually via Zoom at 6 p.m.

Course Materials Conversion Program Call for Proposals Open

Faculty may apply for funding to convert course materials to open resources or a spring workshop on redesigning courses to take advantage of open textbooks or library resources. Apply by Oct. 22.

News Daily