Music Celebrates Women's History Month with 2020 SHE Festival of Women in Music

The Department of Music will host the 2020 SHE Festival of Women in Music, running the entire month of March.

This second edition of the festival coincides with and helps celebrate Women's History Month.

This year's lineup includes 14 performances, lectures, and masterclasses — all highlighting women's significance in the musical world. From art songs in the Western tradition to American pop music, there is something for everyone in the festival's event listings.

A full run down with biographies and event details can be found online at

The SHE Festival of Women in Music recognizes women across the field with an array of music featuring women composers and performers.

"Music can bring us together in extraordinary ways," said Ronda Mains, chair of the Department of Music. "SHE makes room for audiences to hear new sounds, to feature composers of fame and lesser-known stature, and to amplify exceptional stories — all drawing attention to compositions by women, works inspired by women, and music for women."

While this festival works to highlight women, it is only a small step in challenging the norms in musical programming and representation, which remains dominated by men.

Justin Hunter, a member of the steering committee notes that "SHE is a gesture to continue to shift the narrative for audiences to see that music is wider and more vibrant when we consider the multi-faceted expressions shared in varied musics, rather than just focusing on the 'standard' program selections."

Aletheia: Music Theatre
Abbie Conant, singer/trombonist
March 1 — 7:30 p.m. — Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall

Sonic Delights
University Symphony Orchestra
March 2 — 7:30 p.m. — Faulkner Performing Arts Center ($10/$5)

The Accidental Composer
Lecture by Lori Laitman
March 6 — 4:10 p.m. — Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall

The Lyrique Quintette
March 8 — 3 p.m. — Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall

Women in Contemporary Music Concert
Arkansas Soul Band
March 10 — 7:30 p.m. — Global Campus Black Box Theatre

Guest Artist: Nicole Esposito, flute
March 11 — 7:30 p.m. — Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall

Faculty Collage
March 12 — 7:30 p.m. — Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall

Claudia Burson Trio
March 14 — 7:30 p.m. — Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall

Her Voice 2.0
Theresa Delaplain, oboe & Miroslava Panayotova, piano
March 15 — 3 p.m. — Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall

Jazz Showcase
March 30 — 7:30 p.m. — Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall

Student Collage
March 31 — 7:30 p.m. — Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall

SHE is sponsored by and presented in partnership with the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences and the Office of Diversity and Inclusion.

More information about this event can be found at

About the Department of Music: Fulbright College's Department of Music, accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music since 1951, has been a chartered member of Pi Kappa Lambda since 1984. Home to over 300 music majors and minors and 35 graduate students, the department has a faculty of 50 nationally and internationally recognized scholars, pedagogues and musicians. We offer bachelor and master level degrees and an intensive one-year performer's certificate. We are an All-Steinway School, and offer students a number of ensembles, many of which have toured nationally and internationally.

About the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences: The J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences is the largest and most academically diverse unit on campus with three schools, 16 departments and 43 academic programs and research centers. The college provides the core curriculum for all University of Arkansas students and is named for J. William Fulbright, former university president and longtime U.S. senator.


Justin R. Hunter, instructor
Department of Music

Andra Parrish Liwag, director of communications
J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily