Walmart Executive to Speak About Women as Change Makers at Luncheon

Latriece Watkins, executive vice president for consumables, Walmart U.S.
Photo Submitted

Latriece Watkins, executive vice president for consumables, Walmart U.S.

The Chancellor's Commission on Women will host Latriece Watkins, the executive vice president for consumables division of Walmart U.S., as the commission's 2020 keynote speaker at the upcoming luncheon from 11:30 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. Tuesday, April 7. Watkins's keynote address "Next Women Leaders: How to Inspire Women as Change Agents," will focus on how to inspire, energize, and empower women to become agents of change in their personal lives, their communities, and organizations.

The event will be held in Janelle Y. Hembree Alumni House, 491 N. Razorback Road. If you are interested in attending the keynote luncheon please register here. Lunch will be provided to 150 attendees.

Watkins is executive vice president for the Walmart U.S. consumables division. She leads all merchandising strategies for the company's baby, beauty, household chemicals, household paper, over-the-counter pharmacy, personal care and pets business. Watkins and her team are passionate about finding new ways to save customers money on items they use every day.

First joining the company as an intern in real estate, Watkins has served in a variety of key leadership roles within Sam's Club, Walmart U.S. merchandising, human resources and U.S. store operations. In her two decades with the retailer, she has led several important portfolio and strategic initiatives across the company. Because she has worked in so many different areas of the business, Watkins brings a 360-degree approach to her leadership, all while keeping customers at the center of Walmart's consumables business.

Watkins earned a bachelor's degree in political science from Spelman College and a Juris Doctor from the University of Arkansas School of Law.

This event is sponsored by the Chancellor’s Commission on Women and the Office of the Provost.



Anna Zajicek, chair
Chancellor's Commission on Women


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily