U of A Hosts Third German STEM Immersion Day for High Schools

Participants in the German STEM day.
Carlie Clem

Participants in the German STEM day.

Students from Central High School, Fayetteville High School, and Springdale High School spent the day at the Fayetteville U of A campus on Feb. 22, conducting science experiments in German. 

In the morning, students worked on a variety of projects in the lab of Susanne Striegler of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Over lunch, they heard about opportunities in studies and careers utilizing German from Andrew Crippen, who is a student in the International Engineering Program

In the last activity of the day, the high school German students put their linguistic skills to the test in a scavenger hunt competition. 

Funding for the event was made possible thanks to a grant from the National Science Foundation, as well as a contribution from the Department of World Languages, Literatures and Cultures

The U of A thanks Megan Brazle of Springdale High, Jennifer Lusk of Central High, and James Russell of Fayetteville High for bringing their students to the campus on a Saturday for extracurricular learning and fun as well as Carlie Clem, Andrew Crippen, Matty Fawcett, Caleb Lowermilk, Ifedi Orizu, Kristen Ryan, and Babloo Sharma for their invaluable assistance with this event. 

The event was co-organized by Susanne Striegler and Kathleen Condray.


Kathleen Condray, associate professor of German
Department of World Languages, Literatures and Cultures
479-575-5938, condray@uark.edu


Federal Government Shutdown Avoided, 45-Day Continuing Resolution Passes

The university will continue to monitor the FY24 appropriations process and keep the campus community informed accordingly. 

Kayleb Rae Candrilli, 2023-24 Walton Visiting Writer in Poetry, to Read in Fayetteville

Candrilli will read from their work at 7 p.m. Thursday in the Home Economics Auditorium, room 0102, as the 2023-24 Walton Visiting Writer in Poetry.

Gender Studies Program's Third Annual Bridge Fellows Program

The Bridge Fellows Program is designed to support graduate research on gender issues in any department or college for the spring semester.

Gavin Miller Selected as September's Student Leader of the Month

Gavin Miller, an honors junior from Bryant who is studying public health and biology, has been selected as the Student Leader of the Month for August. 

U of A Health Plans Add RSV Vaccines to Medical Coverage Options

The U of A System Office has announced that eligible U of A employees will soon have access to Respiratory Syncytial Virus Infection vaccines covered with no out-of-pocket expense through United Medical Resources. 

News Daily