One Book, One Community Initiative Hosts Free Screening of 'Just Mercy' Feb. 6

The U of A's One Book, One Community initiative is sponsoring a free screening of Just Mercy at the AMC Theater at Fiesta Square in Fayetteville at 5:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 6.

Bryan Stevenson, author of Just Mercy, was the One Book One Community author choice for 2016. The best-selling book was made into a hit movie that was released in December 2019, directed by Destin Daniel Cretton and starring Michael B. Jordan.

This event is sponsored by the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and SciencesDepartment of Political Science, the School of Social Work, the African and African American Studies Program and Fulbright College Diversity and Inclusion, as well as the Center for Multicultural and Diversity Education and the Honors College

The movie screening is free and open to all students, but seating is limited and attendees must register for a ticket in advance. Free advance tickets are now available on EventBrite, on a first come, first served basis. There is a limit of two tickets per person, which can be picked up prior to the showing from 5 p.m. onward at the theatre.

Just Mercy follows young lawyer Bryan Stevenson through his path from law school into the heart of the South to defend those unrepresented and wrongfully accused. The movie focuses on one of Stevenson's first clients, Walter McMillan, who was sentenced to death for the murder of an 18-year old girl, despite evidence that he was innocent.

Stevenson's fight through this case and other similar stories leads him to question and fight for justice, representation, and racial reconciliation. 

The One Book, One Community initiative, now in its thirteenth year, seeks to bring the campus and community together with a common read. The 2020 One Book, One Community choice will be announced later this semester, and the initiative is actively looking for campus and community partners.

For more information or to share ideas, please visit


Katie Powell and Lauren Sabon, committee members
One Book, One Community Initiative


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily