Hoyt H. Purvis Award Winners Announced at Chancellor's Reception

2019 Hoyt H. Purvis Award recipients Peter Ungar, Cecilia Grossberger and Lynn Mosesso.
Photos by University Relations

2019 Hoyt H. Purvis Award recipients Peter Ungar, Cecilia Grossberger and Lynn Mosesso.

Three award recipients were honored at the Chancellor's Reception for International Scholars during International Education Week, Nov. 18-22.

The Hoyt H. Purvis award recognizes a university faculty member, a university staff member and a Graduate School and International Education staff member for their outstanding service in international education.

Peter Ungar, Distinguished Professor of anthropology, is the 2019 university faculty award recipient. Ungar is the director of the environmental dynamics interdisciplinary graduate program and is best known academically for his work on the role of diet in human evolution.

Since 2006 he has made significant contribution to the university's international education mission, leading study abroad trips to Tanzania and South Africa. He also has been instrumental in recruiting and establishing possible government and university partnerships in Southeast Asia. Ungar and his wife, Diane, serve as an iFriend family, helping international students adjust to the United States and university life.

Cecilia Grossberger is the 2019 university staff award recipient. She is the assistant director of marketing and public relations within the university's division of student affairs. Grossberger, a U of A alum, is originally from Bolivia, and has been a key part of the university's two successful delegations to Bolivia this year.

Serving as interpreter and logistics coordinator for the multi-city trips, Grossberger provided information to prospective students for new student and family programs. She also coordinated orientations for admitted students and their parents, providing a personal contact in the transition from Bolivia to Arkansas.

Lynn Mosesso is the 2019 Graduate School and International Education staff award recipient. As director of graduate and international recruitment and admissions, Mosesso has dedicated more than 35 years of service to the university's international education mission.

She has established countless relationships in embassies and advising centers around the world and was instrumental in securing the Spring International Language Center to provide intensive English training for international students attending the university.

"We are fortunate at the university to have people who have dedicated so much of their careers to the promotion of international education," said Kim Needy, dean of the Graduate School and International Education. "Their compassion and care have been felt around the world and have made our campus a richer place."

About the Hoyt H. Purvis Award for Service in International Education: The award was established to honor Purvis, now an emeritus University of Arkansas professor of journalism and international relations, for his contributions to and advocacy for international education at the University of Arkansas. He was the first recipient of the award which was begun in spring 2016.


Amy Unruh, director of communications
Graduate School and International Education
479-575-5809, unruh@uark.edu


$194.7 Million Grant Will Transform Research Engine at U of A, Create New Institute

Major gift will expand U of A research mission through collaborative clusters, driving commercialization and entrepreneurship education.

New Course and Collaboration to Focus on Problems Caused by Pandemic

Faculty and students will collaborate with a university in India to develop innovations for medical devices and protective equipment.

O'Leary-Kelly Named Chair of Walton Arts Center Council

Anne O'Leary-Kelly, senior associate dean and professor of management at the Sam M. Walton College of Business, has been named chair of the Walton Arts Center Council.

UA Campus Departments and Offices Are Invited to Register for Virtual On-Campus Jobs Fair

The Virtual On-Campus Jobs Fair for students seeking on-campus positions will be from 1-4 p.m. Aug. 26. Deadline for departments and offices to participate in the fair is Aug. 19.

Video Submissions for Fulbright College New Student Open House Website Due July 20

Faculty, staff, students and alumni are encouraged to submit videos for an online open house to welcome students back to campus. Submit by Monday, July 20.

News Daily