Friday, Nov. 22, Is the Last Day to Apply for Staff Senate Scholarship

Applications are now being accepted for Staff Senate Scholarships, including the Barbara G. Taylor Staff Senate Scholarship, the Rick A. Haley Memorial Scholarship and the Susan Imes Yell Scholarship. These scholarships are available to degree-seeking University of Arkansas staff members, and are offered for the fall and/or spring semesters with up to $250 awarded per semester. The number of scholarships and amount awarded per recipient is determined by the Staff Senate and dependent on funds available.

Applicants must be staff members eligible to receive the tuition waiver employment benefit as defined in Fayetteville Policies and Procedures 512.0 at the start of the semester that the scholarship award would be applied.

Applicants must also:

  • Demonstrate a need for financial assistance in the pursuit of further education.
  • Have a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or higher in prior college or high school coursework.
  • Be admitted as a degree-seeking student and enroll in at least 3 credit hours of coursework per semester at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, as determined by the student information system.
  • Maintain a minimum GPA of 2.5 in the fall semester of the award year in order to continue the scholarship for the spring semester.
  • Express a desire to contribute to the University through further educational endeavors.
  • Provide at least two references by submitting two letters of recommendation.
  • Be available for an interview at the discretion of the Scholarship Committee.

Application materials are due by 5 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 22.

Late or incomplete applications will not be considered. The Scholarship Committee will determine the recipients of these scholarships prior to the spring 2020 academic semester. If the recipient of the scholarship is no longer an employee, no longer a student, or does not meet the GPA requirements, the scholarship will be rescinded.

An application is available at


EmmaLe Davis, chair, Scholarship Committee
Staff Senate


Arkansas Alumni Association to Focus on Innovative Programs and Critical Conversations

The Arkansas Alumni Association is pivoting its focus this year and creating new and innovative programs to better connect and serve University of Arkansas alumni.

Need a Laugh? Join Eta Sigma Phi and the Classical Studies Program for a Virtual Reading of Lysistrata

The Eta Sigma Phi Classics Honors Society and Classical Studies Program will stage a virtual live reading of Aristophanes' famous anti-war comedy, Lysistrata, from 7-9 p.m. this Saturday.

Researchers to Develop Detection Technology

Samir El-Ghazaly, professor of electrical engineering, and his team received a $400,000 grant to develop analysis tools for high-frequency electronic components, integrated circuits and radiating systems.

Pryor Center Presents 'Feeling Riots: The Emotional Language of Urban Rebellion'

The first of four lectures focusing on racism, social justice, and policing hosted by the Pryor Center. Corrigan's lecture will be held virtually via Zoom at 6 p.m.

Course Materials Conversion Program Call for Proposals Open

Faculty may apply for funding to convert course materials to open resources or a spring workshop on redesigning courses to take advantage of open textbooks or library resources. Apply by Oct. 22.

News Daily