Congratulations to the Employees of the Year

The Staff Senate wishes to announce University of Arkansas Employees of the Year for 2019-20.

Category I - Professional/Non-Faculty - Academic

  • JoAnn Kvamme, Assistant Director, Environmental Dynamics

Category I - Professional/Non-Faculty - Administrative 

  • LeAnn Suggs, Associate Director of SIS Support, Graduate School and International Education

Category II - Secretarial/Clerical  

  • Trish Nicholson, Administrative Specialist III, UA Career Development Center

Category III - Technical/Paraprofessional  

  • J. Brian Curtis, Library Support Analyst, Mullins Library

Category IV - Skilled/Service/Maintenance  

  • Scott Muddiman, Institutional Bus Operator, Transit

Congratulations to these outstanding employees for their hard work and service! They were honored at the University of Arkansas Employee Banquet and will be invited to celebrate with campus administrators and co-workers at the Staff Celebration on December 3rd.  Each winner received a certificate and a monetary award for their selection.  They will also be featured on the Employee of the Year display in the Arkansas Union beginning in early 2020. 

Also, congratulations to all of the Employees of the Quarter nominees. A complete list is available on the Staff Senate nominees page.

Employees of the Year serve as the Employee of the Quarter/Employee of the Year selection committee for the following academic year.

For more information about the Employee of the Quarter program or to make a nomination, please visit the Staff Senate website.


Travis Hefley, chair, EOQ/EOY Committee
Staff Senate


Researchers Get NSF Grant to Study Ancient Climate Change, Tectonics and Mass Extinctions

Celina Suarez and Glenn Sharman of the Department of Geosciences recently received a five-year, $588,000 NSF grant to research the transition period from the Early to Late Cretaceous.

U of A Saxophone Graduate Student Advances in National Competition

U of A graduate student and saxophonist Landon Cole has been selected to advance to the regional round of the Music Teachers' National Association's Young Artist Solo Competition.

Mullins Library Hosts the Un-Quiet Tonight at 6

Beginning at 6 p.m. — when Mullins Library would typically close — the campus community is invited to come make some noise in the usually-quiet spaces on Levels 3 and 4 before they close for renovation.

Housing Director Mentors Young Professionals About 'Physical Environments and Student Success'

Takama Statton-Brooks, director of residence education for U of A Housing, recently served as a mentor for the Southwestern Association of College and University Housing Offices.

University Recreation to Operate on Reduced Holiday Hours

All UREC facilities, including the HPER building, the UREC Fitness Center, and the UREC Sports Complex will be closed on Thursday, Nov. 28, and reduced hours will be set on other days.

Newswire Daily