Industrial Engineering Announces Two New Faculty Members for Fall 2019

Burak Eksioglu and Sandra D. Eksioglu
Photos Submitted

Burak Eksioglu and Sandra D. Eksioglu

The Department of Industrial Engineering has added two faculty members, Sandra D. Eksioglu and Burak Eksioglu. Sandra Eksioglu holds the James M. and Marie G. Hefley Professorship in Logistics and Entrepreneurship.

She received her doctorate in industrial and systems engineering from the University of Florida. Prior to joining the University of Arkansas, she served as a faculty member at Mississippi State and Clemson Universities.  

Sandra's expertise lies in the areas of operations research, network optimization and algorithmic development. She uses these tools to develop models and solution algorithms for solving large-scale problems that arise in the areas of transportation, logistics, and supply chain. Her research has been sponsored by the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, the Department of Transportation and the Department of Homeland Security. She is currently serving on the editorial board of Optimization Letters, Journal of Energy Systems, and Journal of Cleaner Production.   

Sandra was a recipient of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences' Moving Spirit Award for Chapters in 2010, a National Science Foundation CAREER Award in 2011, and the American Society for Engineering Education-Southeast Mid-Career Teaching Award in 2015. She was the winner of the Best Application Paper in IISE Transactions Focus Issue on Scheduling and Logistics in 2018 and 2019. She currently serves as chair of the Women in Engineering Division of ASEE; she was the chair of Railway Application Section of the INFORMS, and the president of Operations Research Division of IISE.

Burak Eksioglu also joins the Department of Industrial Engineering as a professor. He received a doctorate in industrial and systems engineering from the University of Florida, a master's degree in engineering business management from the University of Warwick in the United Kingdom, and a bachelor's degree in industrial engineering from Bogazici University in Turkey. His research program is focused on the area of optimization with applications in transportation, logistics, production management, supply chain management and health care.

Burak's research has been sponsored by the U.S. Department of Transportation, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, NASA, the Mississippi Department of Transportation, and industry. He currently serves as associate editor of IISE Transactions. He has served as the president of the Operations Research and the Logistics and Supply Chain Divisions of the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers. He also served as the director of a Tier 1 University Transportation Center.

Burak has received numerous teaching and research awards such as the Best Application Paper Award from IISE Transactions, Bagley College of Engineering Faculty Research Award, and Excellence in the Teaching of Operations Research from IISE. He is a member of Tau Beta Pi, INFORMS, IISE, ASEE, and POMS.


Tamara Ellenbecker, website developer
Industrial Engineering

Nick DeMoss, director of communications
College of Engineering


Online Resource Provides Latest Updates on Student Travel Impacted by Coronavirus

A new Coronavirus Updates webpage offers students and parents current information and relevant resources about studying abroad and international travel.

Carroll Wins 2020 Altheimer Moot Court Competition

Law student Alex Carroll successfully represented his client against students Arthur Jefferson and Ashley Wofford Spinazze in the final round of the 2020 Ben J. Altheimer Moot Court Competition.

Department of Biological Sciences Mourns Passing of Professor Emeritus Art Brown

Professor Emeritus Arthur "Art" Virgil Brown, 79, of West Fork, Arkansas passed away peacefully Sunday, Feb. 23, after a short battle with brain cancer.

Counselors-in-residence Receive National Honor for Mental Health Leadership

Two doctoral students who provide mental health services to residential students were awarded Emerging Leader grants by the American College Counseling Association.

Students Advocating for Stronger Sisterhood Sponsors Women's Empowerment Week March 2-6

Students Advocating for Stronger Sisterhood invites all university students to our Women's Empowerment Week Monday through Friday, March 2-6.

Newswire Daily