Congratulations Employees of the 3rd Quarter

Whit Pruitt

The Staff Senate is pleased to announce the University of Arkansas Employee of the 3rd Quarter Awards for 2018-19.

Winners for the 3rd quarter are:

Category I – Professional/Non-Faculty - Academic

  • JoAnn Kvamme, assistant director, Environmental Dynamics Program; GSIE/Environmental Dynamics

Category I – Professional/Non-Faculty - Administrative 

  • Leonard Ridley, manager of web design services, Global Campus

Category II – Secretarial/Clerical  

  • Terry Garrity, administrative assistant II, Mathematical Sciences

Category III – Technical/Paraprofessional  

  • David Stowers, systems analyst, UITS

Category IV – Skilled/Service/Maintenance  

  • Alex Booth, coordinator of housekeeping, custodial project and relief  

Congratulations to all these employees for their hard work and service!

Each winner will receive a certificate and a monetary award for their selection. Employee of the Quarter recipients will also be submitted as candidates for the Employee of the Year. For more information about the Employee of the Quarter program, please visit the Staff Senate website.


Autumn Parker,
Staff Senate


Bioarcheological Applications in Cultural Resource Management

Jessica Mathis, a graduate student in biological anthropology, will lecture on bioarcheological applications in cultural resource management at 6 p.m. Wednesday in Discovery Hall 505.

Former All-American Student-Athlete Tomika Ferguson to Give Two Public Lectures on Oct. 1

Tomika Ferguson of Virginia Commonwealth University will present two lectures on Oct. 1, one on black women student-athletes and a second on safe spaces and visibility in the classroom.

Nurses Say Flexibility of New U of A Online Program Is Pivotal to Earning a Bachelor's Degree

Nearly 50 students — licensed practical nurses — from across Arkansas and beyond enrolled in the inaugural class to pursue a bachelor's degree in nursing through online instruction.

Birrell, Thornton Appointed Associate Deans for University Libraries

Lori Birrell has been appointed associate dean for Special Collections, and Joel Thornton has been appointed interim associate dean for Research and Learning.

U of A Welcomes Alfred P. Sloan Program Director to Campus

Evan Michelson, program director at the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, will discuss philanthropic support for research from 1:30-3 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 24, in room 504 of the Arkansas Union.

Newswire Daily