U of A Names 2019-2020 Chancellor's Academic Fellows

Chancellor's Academic Fellows, clockwise from top left: Jamie Baum, Heather Nachtmann, Raj Rao, Brent Williams
Photo Submitted

Chancellor's Academic Fellows, clockwise from top left: Jamie Baum, Heather Nachtmann, Raj Rao, Brent Williams

Four Chancellor's Academic Fellows at the University of Arkansas have been selected for the 2019-2020 academic year to lead campus engagement around the university's signature research areas.

Sponsored by the Office of Faculty Development, the Chancellor's Academic Fellows explore the work and challenges of senior administration and are exposed to different academic leadership styles and insight into senior decision-making processes. Fellows receive either course reduction or financial support for their research and teaching endeavors.

The four fellows will work with faculty across campus to develop a plan on how to build excellence in four specific fields within the university's three signature research areas announced earlier this year. The signature research areas are Advancing the Data Revolution, Improving Human Health and Community Vibrancy, and Innovating for a Resilient and Sustainable Future, and their goal is to distinguish the U of A from other institutions while inspiring collaborative research with partners across the campus, state and nation.

"The Chancellor's Academic Fellows program is an effective mechanism to involve the faculty and the campus at large in making strategic decisions that will have long-term benefits for the U of A," said Daniel Sui, vice chancellor for research and innovation. "These four fellows will play a crucial role in defining what excellence looks like in our signature research areas." 

The Chancellor's Fellows and their fields of focus are:

  • Jamie Baum, associate professor of nutrition, food systems and the future of food
  • Heather Nachtmann, associate dean for research and a professor of industrial engineering, materials science and engineering
  • Raj Rao, professor and department head of biomedical engineering, bioscience and bioengineering 
  • Brent Williams, associate dean for executive education and outreach, data science and data analytics  

"Our four Chancellor's Academic Fellows each bring high levels of expertise to their areas, in addition to demonstrated leadership capabilities that will help them harness the energy and knowledge of other faculty on campus," said Jim Coleman, provost and executive vice chancellor for academic affairs. "I am looking forward to working closely with them this year toward driving collaboration and growth in our signature research areas."



John Post, director of academic communications
University Relations
479-575-4449, johnpost@uark.edu


U of A Honors College Announces 2020 Bodenhamer Fellows

Six incoming students have been named Bodenhamer Fellows, earning $72,000 each in fellowships for education, research and study abroad.

Pat Walker Health Center: Support Available in Wake of Race-Related Violence

Counseling & Psychological Services is available if you need support. Mental health services are available 24/7 by phone at 479-575-5276.

Biomedical Engineering Students Honored with Virtual Commencement

Biomedical engineering faculty, staff, students and families gathered virtually May 14 to celebrate the outstanding achievements of the department's graduating seniors.

Garrison Moves From HESC Director to Full-Time Teaching and Research; Graham Interim Director

Betsy Garrison is stepping down as director of the School of Human Environmental Sciences after six years. Donna Graham will serve as interim director of the program.

Incoming Freshman Service Program in August

The Volunteer Action Center invite incoming freshman women to sign up for Lean In, a program designed to educate, encourage and empower freshman through community service Aug. 17-23.

News Daily