Counseling Professor Lynn Koch Receives 2019 George N. Wright UW-Madison Varsity Award

Lynn Koch, professor of counselor education
Photo Submitted

Lynn Koch, professor of counselor education

Lynn Koch, a counselor education professor at the University of Arkansas, recently received the George N. Wright University of Wisconsin-Madison 2019 Varsity Award.

The faculty of UW-Madison's Rehabilitation Psychology program unanimously voted for Koch to receive the award. She was honored at the National Council on Rehabilitation Education's conference in San Diego in mid-April, where she received a plaque.

This alumni award recognizes Koch's significant contributions to rehabilitation psychology and rehabilitation counseling research. Koch earned her doctorate from UW-Madison in 1996 and is the 26th recipient of the prestigious award.

David Rosenthal, area chair of the rehabilitation and psychology programs at UW-Madison, said this annual award is given to a highly regarded alumnus and recognizes "outstanding contributions to the fields of rehabilitation counseling and rehabilitation psychology."

Rosenthal said Koch has significantly impacted people with disabilities in a positive way through her meaningful research.

"How proud UW-Madison is of her," he said. "What a wonderful colleague she is."

He said when the committee was discussing who should win this year, her name rose to the top. Rosenthal pointed to Koch's many publications, books, chapters and grant funding.

"It was time that she was honored, given her productivity and contributions," he said.


Lynn C. Koch, professor
Rehabilitation, Human Resources and Communication Disorders

Shannon Magsam, director of communications
College of Education and Health Professions


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily