Graduate-Professional Student Congress Holds Annual Awards Ceremony, Inaugurates New Leadership Team

Newly elected GPSC cabinet, at-large members, and advisor, PJ Martinez
Shane White

Newly elected GPSC cabinet, at-large members, and advisor, PJ Martinez

The Graduate-Professional Student Congress wrapped up its first year as a newly autonomous body with executive and at-large elections and the annual GPSC Award Ceremony.

For the upcoming 2019-20 academic year James "JD" DiLoreto-Hill, a graduate student in clinical mental health and doctoral student in public policy, was elected to be president. Nicole Doyle, a doctoral student in public health, was elected vice president. Katherine Dzurilla, a doctoral student in space and planetary science, was elected treasurer. Cody Chivers, a doctoral student in cell and molecular biology, was elected secretary.

The following individuals were elected to represented their respective colleges (three seats per college/school):

  • School of Law: Lauren Ford, Jesse Kloss, and Kate Wyly
  • College of Education and Health Professions: Tiffany Marcantonio, Scott Wright, and Ian O'Rourke
  • Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences: Dylan Larkin, Kadesha Treco, and Bradley Borges
  • J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences: Aijbola Bakare
  • Graduate School and International Education: Rachel Slank
  • Walton College of Business: Henry Rice
  • College of Engineering: Tai Huynh, Johnathan Blanchard, Juan Martinez Castro

In addition to inaugural festivities, the GPSC honored several individuals for their unique contributions to the Graduate-Professional Student Congress and graduate education this past academic year.

  • Civic Ally of the Year: The Honorable Nicole Clowney - Arkansas House of Representatives
  • Faculty Ally of the Year: Sarah Hernandez, assistant professor - College of Engineering
  • Administrative Ally of the Year: Lori Lander - assistant vice chancellor for campus life and assistant dean of students
  • Staff Ally of the Year: PJ Martinez - Assistant Director for Student Government Leadership
  • Research Award: Tiffany Marcantonio - doctoral candidate in public health
  • Alex Marino Service Award: James "JD" DiLoreto-Hill - graduate student in clinical mental health and doctoral student in public policy
  • Outreach Award: Johnathan Blanchard - doctoral candidate in civil engineering
  • Excellence in Graduate Education: Campus Leadership
    • Carole Shook - doctoral student in higher education
    • James "JD" DiLoreto-Hill - graduate student in clinical mental health and doctoral student in public policy
  • Excellence in Graduate Education: GPSC Government Service
    • James "JD" DiLoreto-Hill - graduate student in clinical mental health and doctoral student in public policy
  • Second Annual Graduate Research Competition Awards:
    • Oral Presentation:
      • First Place: Catherine Dobbins - Presentation Title: Experiential Service Learning and Reflection:  What International Experiences Can Teach Us About How We Learn
      • Second Place: Glory Okpiaifo - Presentation Title: Assessing Consumer Preferences of Sustainability Attributes in the Nigerian Rice Industry
    • Poster Presentation:
      • First Place: Megan Rosa-Caldwell - Presentation Title: Mitochondrial aberrations during the progression of disuse atrophy differentially affect male and female mice
      • Second Place: Seongkyun Lim - Presentation Title: Atrophy-related genes are differentially expressed during progression of disuse-induced atrophy in male and female mice

The Graduate-Professional Student Congress also honored and thanked Jennifer Oramous, a doctoral graduate in curriculum and instruction, for her service as this year's GPSC secretary and Arley Ward, a doctoral candidate in history, for his service as the body's president. Their leadership was essential to GPSC's success in representing U of A graduate and professional students.


JD DiLoreto-Hill, president
Graduate-Professional Student Congress


'The House and the City: Two Collages' Exhibition on Display Through Oct. 20 in Vol Walker Hall

The exhibition "The House and the City: Two Collages" will be on display through Oct. 20 in the Fred and Mary Smith Exhibition Gallery in Vol Walker Hall. A reception will be held at 5 p.m. Sept. 19.

Congratulations Employees of the 3rd Quarter

Alex Booth, Terry Garrity, JoAnn Kvamme, Leonard Ridley and David Stowers were named the Employees of the 3rd Quarter for the 2019-20 academic year.

Get Connected at HillFest Today

HillFest, an information fair for students to meet campus departments and registered student organizations, is happening today on the Arkansas Union Mall from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Career Fest 2019, Co-Sponsored by Walmart

The University Career Development Center, in collaboration with Walmart, will host Career Fest from noon to 3 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 4, in the Verizon Ballroom of the Arkansas Union.

Physics Students to Speak About Summer Research Projects

Jack Freeland and Davis Campbell will talk about their research experiences at 4 p.m. Friday, Aug. 30, in Physics Building Room 133.

Newswire Daily