Students Present Research at Paul Noland Graduate Student Awards Competition

Ruchita Uttarwar and Xiaofan Wang
Photos Submitted

Ruchita Uttarwar and Xiaofan Wang

The Department of Animal Science master's and doctoral candidates presented their research at the 2019 Paul Noland Graduate Student Awards Competition on Jan. 10. The competition judges students in three areas: abstract, oral presentation, and curriculum vitae. One M.S. student and one PhD student is awarded a $750 travel stipend for regional and national research meetings.

Ruchita Uttarwar, whose research was titled "Comparative evaluation of four RNA extraction kits in the isolation of viral RNA from fecal, nasal and tissue samples," was selected as the winning master's candidate. Uttarwar is a graduate research student under the supervision of Jiangchao Zhao, and has completed her veterinary and animal science study (B.V.Sc & A.H) from Nagpur Veterinary College and Maharashtra Animal & Fishery Science University, both in India.

Xiaofan Wang who presented research titled "Lifelong dynamics of the swine gut microbiome: from birth to market," was selected as the winning doctoral candidate. Xiaofan started her M.S. program in fall 2012 in Maxwell's lab at the University of Arkansas. After receiving her M.S. degree, she chose to continue with her studies as a Ph.D. student. Her academic background is in cellular biology, swine gut microbiome, gut health, and microbiome cultureomics.

The award commemorates the legacy of Paul R. Noland, an emeritus professor of animal science at the University of Arkansas. Noland served as head of the Department of Animal Science from 1988 until his retirement in 1994. He joined the faculty in 1951 after receiving his doctoral degree from Cornell University. Noland passed in 2015 at age 91.


Jamie Newberry,
Department of Animal Science


Anthropologist Contributes to Major Study of Large Animal Extinction

Research published in Science explains the effect of human-influenced mass extinction of giant carnivores and herbivores from North America.

Theatre Alumna Rachel Lynett Receives Artists 360 Award

The Mid-America Arts Alliance named 20 recipients of its 2019 Artists 360 Awards, recognizing top performing, visual and literary artists from across the region, including Department of Theatre alumna Rachel Lynett.

Researchers to Partner on All-Electric Aircraft Project

Two electrical engineering professors — Alan Mantooth and Fang Luo — have joined a multi-institutional team of researchers on a NASA-funded project to develop an all-electric aircraft.

A Q&A with Fulbright College Alumnus Jacob Shores-Argüello

Jacob Shores-Argüello, a graduate of the Program in Creative Writing and Translation, is the recipient of the 2018 Lannan Literary Fellowship for Poetry, a $100,000 prize. Learn more in this Q&A with him.

Blair Center Conference to Mark 100th Anniversary of Elaine Riot

The Blair Center for Southern Politics and Society is sponsoring a conference, "Elaine at 100," on Sept. 26-27 at the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center in Little Rock.

Newswire Daily