Congratulations Collaborative Research Grant Recipients

The Office of the Provost and the Department for Faculty Development and Enhancement are pleased to announce the 2018 Collaborative Research Grant recipients.

"It was great to see so many wonderful research ideas crossing department borders. I am just sorry we couldn't fund more of them," said Ro DeBrezzo, vice-provost for faculty affairs and chair of the grant review committee.

Fourteen research projects, involving more than 40 University of Arkansas faculty, representing 25 departments will receive funding.

Congratulations to primary investigators: Amanda Williams, Erin Hickey, Ingrid Fritsch, Jennifer Becnel, Jennifer Kish-Gephart, Jorge Montanez, Jyotishkia Datta, Kim Stauss, Lauren Simon, Pearl Dowe, Rhodora Vennarucci, Rob Wells, Tracey Barnett, Yan Huang and their teams.

The Provost's Collaborative Research Grant was initiated in 2015 to support faculty in their research endeavors and encourage scholarly production while enhancing the university's Building a Collaborative and Innovative Campus initiative. A total of 35 highly competitive applications were submitted this year.


Ro Di Brezzo, vice provost for faculty affairs
Office of the Provost


New Insight Into Cell Membranes Could Improve Drug Testing and Design

Chemistry researchers studied a type of membrane protein that expels drugs from a cell, contributing to drug resistance. A lipid composition on the cell membrane affects the behavior of these proteins.

Honors College to Host Performance of Florence Price Violin Concerto and Duos

Violinist Er-Gene Kahng and classical modern pianist Nathan Carterette will perform at 6 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 5, in Gearhart Hall.

Journalism Ethics Center Director Awarded National Grant for Historical Research

Raymond McCaffrey, director of the Center for Ethics in Journalism, plans to use the grant to research Louis Stark, who won a Pulitzer Prize for his reporting on labor during the 1920s.

Cook and Glade Elected to State Leadership Positions

Aletha Cook and Rachel Glade are serving three-year terms on the Board of Directors of the Arkansas Speech-Language-Hearing Association.

Mayfield Receives Austrian Marshall Scholarship to Complete Food Science Doctoral Project

Sarah Mayfield has completed a research project involving a healthier chocolate created with soy oil and is now working on wine made with grapes grown in Arkansas.

Newswire Daily