Middle East Studies Program Announces Courses for Spring 2019

The Middle East Studies Program in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences will offer courses in anthropology, Arabic language, literature, history, political science and more during the spring 2019 semester.

This spring's course offerings reflect the diverse specialties and academic interests of the program's faculty, and maybe used to satisfy requirements for the Middle East Studies major and minor. More information may be found on the Middle East Studies Program website.

Middle East Studies Courses

ANTH 3033 Egyptology
M/W, 3:05-4:20 p.m.
Morey, elmorey@uark.edu

ANTH 4913 Music & Resistance in the Middle East
T/TH, 12:30-1:45 p.m.
Swedenburg, tsweden@uark.edu

ANTH 4913 Mass Media in the Middle East
M/W/F, 2:00-2:50 p.m.
Ozkan, nozkan@uark.edu
Crosslisted with MEST4103

ARAB 1003 Elementary Arabic
M/W/F, 2:00-2:50 p.m.
Instructor TBA

ARAB 2016/H Intensive Arabic II
M/W/F 9:40-10:30 a.m., T/TH 9:30-10:45 a.m.
P Haydar, phaydar@uark.edu

ARAB 2016/H Intensive Arabic II
M/W/F 10:45-11:35 a.m., T/TH 11:00-12:15 p.m.
Mahmoud, rmahmoud@uark.edu

ARAB 4016/H Intensive Arabic IV
M/W/F 9:40-10:30 a.m., T/TH 9:30-10:45 a.m.
A Haydar, ahaydar@uark.edu

ARAB 4033 Advanced Arabic II
M/W/F 11:00-12:15 p.m.
A Haydar, ahaydar@uark.edu

ARAB 470V Independent Study
Schedule TBA
A Haydar, ahaydar@uark.edu

ENGL 3713 Literature of Spain, 711-1615 CE
Tu/Th, 3:30-4:45 p.m.
Kahf, mkahf@uark.edu
Crosslisted with ENGL 4713, MRST 3013/H, WLIT 3713

HIST 3033 Islamic Civilization
M/W/F, 11:50-12:40 p.m.
Basturk, babastur@uark.edu

HIST 4993 History of the Ottoman Empire, 1300-1923
T/TH, 12:30-1:45 p.m.
Antov, antov@uark.edu

HNRC 301VH Honors College Retro Readings: Qur'an
Th, 5:00-6:15 p.m.
Kahf, mkahf@uark.edu

MEST 2013 Introduction to Middle East Studies
M/W, 4:35-5:50 p.m.
Alam, alam@uark.edu

MEST 3003/H Islam: Beliefs and Practices
T/Th, 2:00-3:15 p.m.
Alam, alam@uark.edu

MEST 4003 Colloquium: Middle East Popular Culture
T, 5:00-7:30 p.m.
Gordon, joelg@uark.edu

PLSC 3523 Politics of the Middle East
M/W/F, 12:55-1:45 p.m.
Saeidi, saeidi@uark.edu

PLSC 4843 The Middle East in World Affairs
3:05-4:20 p.m.
Ghadbian, ghadbian@uark.edu

WLLC 398V Levantine Dialect
M/W/F, 11:50-12:40 p.m.
P Haydar, phaydar@uark.edu

About the King Fahd Center for Middle East Studies: The King Fahd Center for Middle East Studies is an academic and research unit in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Arkansas. An interdisciplinary and interdepartmental area studies center that offers diverse cultural, intellectual, and educational opportunities for the University of Arkansas community, the Center promotes research and teaching in interdisciplinary Middle East studies. More information about the King Fahd Center can be found at mest.uark.edu. For ongoing news, follow the Center on Facebook and Twitter.

Contacts

Nani Verzon, project/program specialist
Middle East Studies Program
479-575-2175, hverzon@uark.edu

Headlines

UA Music Professor's Fellowship in Kenya Brings New Sounds to Faulkner Performing Arts Center

The UA Collegiate Chorale will perform arrangements of East African pieces at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 26, at the Faulkner Performing Arts Center.

University Symphony Orchestra Premieres New Work With Professor Ronda Mains

The University Symphony Orchestra presents their first concert of the spring season with a program called "Angelic Voices" at 7:30 p.m. Monday, Feb. 25, in the Faulkner Performing Arts Center.

Join the Fun at Tonight's Game Night

Join the U of A Campus Cousins program for Game Night with snacks, party games and lots of fun from 7-9 p.m. today, Feb. 22, in the Holcombe Hall Living Room.

Engine Week Kicks off Monday, Feb. 25

The campus community is invited to celebrate Engine Week with the Engineering Student Council with food, games and professional development opportunities.

Northwest Arkansas Regional Science and Engineering Fair Set for March 4 in Union Ballroom

More than 250 fifth-12th grade students in schools from 15 counties in Northwest Arkansas will compete Monday, March 4, in the Northwest Arkansas Regional Science and Engineering Fair.

Newswire Daily