Registration Open for Education Innovation Summit on Sept. 26-28

Susan Patrick, from left, Derek Wenmoth and Stephen Spaloss
Photos Submitted

Susan Patrick, from left, Derek Wenmoth and Stephen Spaloss

Online registration is available for the Office of Innovation for Education and Arkansas Department of Education fourth annual Education Innovation Summit set for Sept. 26-28 in Rogers.

The 2018 summit to be held at the John Q. Hammons Center will provide unprecedented opportunities for learning with innovators in education experienced at the international, national and state levels. This year's theme, "Discover Every Learner," highlights the value that each learner brings to the community.

Sessions will focus on innovation research in transformational leadership, learner-driven practices and designing learning. Keynote speakers will be Susan Patrick, Derek Wenmoth and Stephen Spaloss.

Patrick is the president and chief executive officer of iNACOL, a nonprofit providing policy advocacy, publishing research, development quality standards and driving the transformation to personalized, competency-based education forward. Patrick was awarded an Eisenhower Fellowship in 2016 to explore countries whose education systems are global leaders in innovation. She will share what she learned about the countries she visited and what makes their systems so successful.

Wenmoth is the director of e-Learning at CORE Education and is regarded as one of New Zealand education's future-focused thinkers. With a background as a teacher, principal, teacher-educator and education policy adviser, he combines his passion for teacher and learning with a long-held fascination with the use of technology in education.

Spaloss is a senior vice president of City Year. He began his service in 1990 as a corps member and has gone on to hold several leadership positions within the organization. He helped found several City Year sites, including Providence, San Jose and Philadelphia and supported the launch of City Year's 15th site, City Year South Africa in Johannesburg.

More information on the speakers, breakout sessions, the full agenda and hotel information can be found on the summit website.

The Arkansas Department of Education worked with the University of Arkansas to establish the Office of Innovation for Education in 2013. It is based in the College of Education and Health Professions. Denise Airola, formerly a research specialist with the Arkansas Leadership Academy, directs the office.


Heidi S. Wells, director of communications
College of Education and Health Professions


U of A's Anthony Timberlands Center Project Gains National, International Attention

Architectural Review recognized the Anthony Timberlands Center as the only North American project for a future award, and the New York Times article showcased it in a story about mass timber construction.

Beisswenger to Retire, Reception Set for March 31

Drew Beisswenger, performing arts librarian, is set to retire March 31 after seven years of service to the University of Arkansas Libraries. A reception will be held from 10-11:30 a.m. Friday at Mullins Library 469.

Women's History Month: Zitkála-Šá

Zitkála-Šá, or "Red Bird," whose mother was Sioux and father was Anglo-American, sought to bridge the cultures of Native Americans and European Americans in the United States.

Farewell Reception for Eunice Alberson

A drop-in reception for Eunice Alberson, who has accepted a position as associate vice president of Human Resources at another university, will be held from 1:30-3:30 p.m. today in the Arkansas Union 512-514.

Speech and Debate Team Finishes Top Five

Competing against colleges from 21 states, the U of A Speech and Debate Society finished fifth in overall competition as well as fifth place in the scholastic award category.

News Daily