Changes Effective Jan. 1

In an effort to provide ongoing communication, Research & Sponsored Programs is providing notice that has phased out its Legacy Application Package effective Jan. 1.

This means that applicants will no longer be able to apply using the older, single PDF package of forms. Applicants will apply for grants using the new, web-based platform called Workspace.

Using the Workspace platform brings a range of benefits to applicants and their organizations:

  1. Workspace helps detect errors earlier. Improved error-checking allows applicants to catch and correct errors earlier resulting in fewer rejected submissions.
  2. Workspace saves time. Forms from old workspaces can be reused, reducing data-entry and saving valuable time.
  3. Workspace streamlines collaboration. Multiple forms can be completed by a team of applicants.

In January, Research & Sponsored Programs will hold two workshops in Mullins Library to discuss this change. To register, click the date: Jan. 17 or Jan. 18, then click the Register button. Additional information and links to tutorials can be found on our Proposal Submission Changes webpage.


Jennifer E. Taylor, assistant vice provost for research and director of RSSP
Research and Innovation/Research and Sponsored Programs

Heather A. Frankenberger, assistant director, electronic research administration
Research and Sponsored Programs


Quantum Dots Enable Faster, Easier Photon Detection, More Secure Data

A research team including U of A faculty has developed a method of detecting single photons using tiny semiconductors called quantum dots.

School of Art Announces Selection of Architecture Teams

The architecture firms HGA and MAHG Architecture have been selected to develop the Windgate Art and Design District in Fayetteville.

University Libraries Digitize Selection of Florence Price Papers

The digital exhibit features photographs, correspondence, music programs and biographical documents from the Florence Price Papers, housed by the Special Collections department. 

U of A Chapter Takes a Third Place at AMA International Collegiate Conference

The American Marketing Association chapter at the University of Arkansas took third place for best educational value at the 40th annual AMA International Collegiate Conference.

Landscape Installation by Fay Jones School Faculty Chosen in Juried Statewide Competition

Phoebe Lickwar and Laura Terry, both professors in the Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design, collaborated as the lead designers on the project.

Newswire Daily