Staff Senate Announces Staff Scholarship Awards for 2017-18

2017-18 Staff Senate Scholarship recipients.
Photo Submitted

2017-18 Staff Senate Scholarship recipients.

The Staff Senate is happy to announce a record year of awards from the Staff Senate Endowed Scholarship Fund. In addition to the generous tuition discount given by the university, Staff Senate awards several scholarships each year to eligible employees to help offset the remaining costs associated with taking classes. This year, there are a record twenty-five recipients of the Staff Senate Scholarship. The Staff Senate would like to thank Chancellor Joseph E. Steinmetz who has donated matching funds for the second year in a row in support of Staff Scholarships, once again, doubling our ability to award scholarships to more staff! 

Twenty-five recipients received scholarships ranging from $250 to $500 to assist in their studies for the academic year 2017-18. Just as in the past, three staff members were chosen for our named scholarships — Susan Imes Yell Scholarship, Rick A. Haley Memorial Scholarship, and Barbara G. Taylor Staff Senate Scholarship.

"Staff Senate is extremely proud of the accomplishments of our peers who work full time while achieving their higher education goals," said Blake Chapman, scholarship chair. Scholarships were established by Staff Senate to promote and encourage staff development through higher education in undergraduate and graduate studies.

The Staff Senate Scholarship will be available again in May 2018. Those interested in supporting the Staff Senate Endowed Scholarship Fund can visit the Office of Annual Giving at Online Giving.


Denise Bignar, secretary
Staff Senate


Scholarship Gift Inspired by Research Assistantship and Faculty Mentor

A Campaign Arkansas gift from alumnus Kaiyuan Chen will create a scholarship for undergraduates pursuing research in physics. 

NSF Grant to Support Professor's, Graduate Student's Interdisciplinary Research

Professor Steve Tung and graduate student Bo Ma have received an NSF I-Corps grant to explore the commercialization of the pair's nanofluidic system for DNA sequencing.

World Trade Center Arkansas Launches 'Gateways' Podcast Series

The Gateways podcast will help Arkansas companies understand and overcome complex issues in global commerce, trade and business.

Training Course Prepares Drone Pilots to Take FAA Certification Exam

This four-session course begins Jan. 20 and teaches best practices and practical, hands-on skills to fly unmanned aircraft safely and legally.

Kim Needy Named Interim Vice Provost for Research and Innovation

Dean Kim Needy and associate professor of history Trish Starks will co-chair the search committee for a permanent vice provost.

Newswire Daily