UA Employees of the Year 2016-17

The Staff Senate wishes to congratulate the University of Arkansas Employees of the Year for 2016-17.

Employees of the year represent staff employees who have gone above and beyond their normal job duties for the previous year, and were selected from amongst the winners of the Employees of the Quarter from fiscal year 2017. These individuals are nominated by their peers and supervisors for outstanding work from five different categories and were selected by a committee composed of the Employees of the Year from fiscal year 2016.

The campus community is invited to join the Staff Senate at its regular meeting 9:30 a.m. Thursday, Sept. 14, in Arkansas Union Room 504, to help celebrate and recognize these outstanding staff members at the University of Arkansas:

  • Audra Johnston, associate director, International Students and Scholars, Professional/Non-Faculty-Academic

  • Becky Shoemaker-Lingelbach, payroll manager, Human Resources, Professional/Non-Faculty – Administrative

  • Sedivy Reigh, administrative support supervisor, Graduate School and International Education, Secretarial/Clerical

  • Tami Trzeciak, fiscal support specialist, Department of Mathematical Sciences, Technical/Paraprofessional

  • Randy Luper, skilled tradesman – electrical, Facilities Management, Skilled Crafts/Service/Maintenance

Each winner will receive a certificate and a monetary award at this awards ceremony. In addition, 2016-17 Employees of the Year will serve as the selection committee for the 2017-18 Employees of the Quarter and Year. Many thanks to the 2015-16 Employees of the Year who served on this year's selection committee — Carolyn Chitwood, Anne Raines, Natalia Karnes, Leigh Marshall, and Jackson Owusu. Their yearlong service to this recognition program is invaluable to Staff Senate and the University community.

For more information about the Employee of the Quarter/Year program, please visit the Staff Senate website.


Mary Skinner, chair, EOQ/EOY
Staff Senate


First Chancellor's Fund Research Grants Awarded for 10 U of A Faculty Proposals

More than 30 faculty will collaborate on the various research proposals aimed at discovery, creativity and innovation.

Engineering Professor Receives NSF Fellowship Through New Initiative

EPSCoR funding will allow assistant professor Lauren Greenlee to work with scientists at UNLV on materials to improve fuel cells and batteries.

Contemporary Sculpture Society to Host Artist Lecture Sept. 28

Daniel Feinberg is an assistant professor of design and sculpture at Berea College, will offer a lecture about his work at 5:30 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 28, in the Hillside Auditorium.

Visiting Artist Katherine Bradford Will Discuss Her Work and Fine Arts Center Gallery Exhibition

Katherine Bradford will present a lecture about her use of symbolic imagery at 5:30 p.m. today, Sept. 21, in Hillside Auditorium, room 206.

Free Webinar Sept. 28 About 'Analytics: What is it?'

U of A professor Carrie Beam will present a Lunch & Learn Webinar titled "Analytics: What is it?" at noon Thursday, Sept. 28.

Newswire Daily