College of Engineering Honors Outstanding Students

Danielle Neighbour, the 2017 College of Engineering Outstanding Senior, joined the awards ceremony from New York over Skype.
Photo by Laura Fickett

Danielle Neighbour, the 2017 College of Engineering Outstanding Senior, joined the awards ceremony from New York over Skype.

On Tuesday, May 2, the College of Engineering recognized several students at the annual Student Awards and Honors Reception.

"I'm very happy to be here honoring the top students in the College of Engineering," said John English, dean of the College of Engineering. "These students have all worked very hard, and they all have exciting futures ahead of them."

Danielle Neighbour, a civil engineering major and Honors College graduate, was selected as Outstanding Senior by the College of Engineering, in addition to being named Outstanding Senior for the Department of Civil Engineering. Neighbour, who graduated in December of 2016, joined the awards ceremony over Skype.

Eight other students received Outstanding Senior awards from their departments:

  • Jillian Schneider,* biological and agricultural engineering
  • Abby Terlouw,** biomedical engineering
  • Emily Degner,** chemical engineering
  • Brendan McGeehan,* computer engineering
  • Jason Townsley,** computer science
  • Alec Walter,* electrical engineering
  • David Cox,* industrial engineering
  • Ange Iradukunda,* mechanical engineering

Ethan Echols was recognized for being selected as a Presidential Scholar by the university.

Seven students were recognized as a First Ranked Senior Scholar for having achieved a 4.0 grade point average for coursework completed on this campus:

  • Ty Austin
  • Jacob Brosh
  • Farida Mahmud*
  • Brendan McGeehan*
  • Rebekah Porter*
  • Abby Terlouw**
  • Alec Walter*

Eleven students received the Senior Scholar Award, for maintaining a 4.0 grade point average that included transfer credits.

  • Cody Campbell**
  • Emily Degner**
  • Brian Hillhouse
  • Daniel La Tour
  • Christopher Matthews*
  • Karla Morrissey*
  • Jason Norwood
  • Lauren Reed*
  • Michael Sharp*
  • Jason Townsley*
  • Tyler White

Seven students received Porter Stone Coop Awards, which are given to engineering students who have excelled in cooperative education.

  • Harrison Gilker
  • Daniel La Tour
  • Irene Makune*
  • Rolando Morales Ortega*
  • Anthony Shank*
  • Fan Wang
  • David Wellendorf

* Honors College student or alumnus
** Honors College Fellow


Camilla Shumaker, director of communications


United We Win Tallying Donations, Drawing for a Prize Winner Today

U of A United Way fund drive nears end of third week, has reached 41 percent of its campaign goal.

UREC Sports Complex Open with a New Artificial Turf Playing Surface

The beginning of intramural flag football and the resumption of club sports practices signals the completion of the renovated UREC Sports Complex at the University of Arkansas.

Bentonville Teen With Cerebral Palsy Excels at First Summer Job Through PROMISE

The Arkansas PROMISE project named Luke Kitterman the Outstanding PROMISE Youth in Northwest Arkansas for 2017 based on his work ethic, efficiency, respectfulness and dedication.

Spatz Named Walton College Employee of the Quarter

Casey Spatz, administrative support supervisor in the Department of Supply Chain Management, has been named employee of the first quarter by the Sam M. Walton College of Business.

Newswire Daily