Matlock Presents at Consumer Goods Forum's Sustainable Retail Summit in Paris

Marty Matlock, executive director, Office for Sustainability
Photo Submitted

Marty Matlock, executive director, Office for Sustainability

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Marty Matlock, executive director of the University of Arkansas Office for Sustainability, was an invited speaker at the Consumer Goods Forum’s Sustainable Retail Summit in Paris in October.

Matlock is professor of biological and agricultural engineering. His research focus is metrics and measurements for sustainable systems, and his research team is the world’s leader in agricultural and land-based sustainability assessment. Matlock presented research from his team, including Greg Thoma, professor of chemical engineering, Jennie Popp, professor of agricultural economics and agribusiness, and Jack Cothren, professor of geosciences and director of the Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies. Their research quantified the impact of technological innovation on agricultural sustainability in the U.S. over the past 40 years.

The Consumer Goods forum is a global industry network of more than 400 retailers, manufacturers, service providers, and other stakeholders across 70 countries. Their member companies have combined sales of nearly $4 trillion and employ nearly 10 million people with a further 90 million supporting jobs across the supply chain. The vision of the Consumer Goods Forum is “Better Lives Through Better Business.” They create opportunities for consumer goods manufacturers and retailers to create positive change through information and knowledge sharing. The four pillars of the Consumer Goods Forum are sustainability, product safety, health and wellness, and value chain life cycle standards and protocols.

This presentation is part of the larger influence the University of Arkansas is having on global sustainable agriculture. Matlock served as a U.S. State Department special envoy in France in March, to share the technologies and methods U.S. agricultural producers have adopted that have allowed them to dramatically reduce soil erosion, greenhouse gas emissions, energy and water use, and land use for production. He made similar presentations in China in June.


Cassandra Gronendyke, administrative specialist
Office for Sustainability


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily