2015-16 Employee of the Year Winners Announced

The Staff Senate wishes to congratulate the University of Arkansas Employees of the Year for 2015-16.

Employees of the year represent staff employees who have gone above and beyond their normal job duties for the previous year, and were selected from amongst the winners of the Employees of the Quarter from fiscal year 2016. These individuals are nominated by their peers and supervisors for outstanding work from five different categories and were selected by a committee composed of the Employees of the Year from fiscal year 2015.

The campus community is invited to join the Staff Senate at its regular meeting 9:30 a.m. Thursday, Sept. 8, in Arkansas Union Room 513-514, to help celebrate and recognize these outstanding staff members at the University of Arkansas:

  • Anne Raines, senior associate director, Class-Plus, Professional/Non-Faculty - Academic
  • Carolyn Chitwood, HEI program coordinator, Career Services; Category I - professional/non-faculty-administrative
  • Natalia Karnes, administrative specialist II, Department of Sociology, secretarial/clerical
  • Leigh Marshall, student applications specialist, Grad/International Administration, Technical/Paraprofessional
  • Jackson Owusu, institution service assistant, Custodial NS Zone 5-E; Category IV - skilled crafts/service/maintenance

Each winner will receive a certificate and a monetary award at this awards ceremony. In addition, 2015-16 Employees of the Year will serve as the selection committee for the 2016-17 Employees of the Quarter and Year. Many thanks to the 2014-15 Employees of the Year who served on this year's selection committee - Rickey Booker, Kelly Carter, Diane Ogden, Michael Cramer, and Michael Eddings. Their yearlong service to this recognition program is invaluable to Staff Senate and the University community.

For more information about the Employee of the Quarter/Year program, please visit the Staff Senate website.



Mary L. Skinner, chair, Employee of Year
Student Activities
479-575-5255, marys@uark.edu

Charlie Alison, executive editor
University Relations
479-575-6731, calison@uark.edu


Three Walton Students Awarded Fleischer Scholarships

Hailye Williams, Alyssa Bradford and Madison Holmes have been awarded $10,000 scholarships, renewable for four years, to attend the Walton College through the Fleischer Scholars Program.

Ag Education's Shoulders a Chronicle of Higher Education 'Teaching Innovator'

Kate Shoulders uses video critiques of graduate projects to give students one-on-one recordings of her impressions and thought process.

Women's Giving Circle Celebrates Grant Awardees and Scholarship Recipients

At annual fall event, $100,000 was awarded to seven U of A programs, and a $25,000 Advance Arkansas scholarship gift was announced.

United We Win Enters Final Weeks of Campaign with Social Media Drive

$1United 24 hour drive starts 7 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 24. -- and there's still time  to turn in donor cards or make an online contribution;

Conway Project Wins LafargeHolcim Acknowledgement Award

The U of A Community Design Center and Office for Sustainability collaborated on urban watershed framework plan.

Newswire Daily