Industrial Engineering Students Recognized at International Conference

Industrial engineering faculty and students.
Photo Submitted

Industrial engineering faculty and students.

Several University of Arkansas students received awards at the annual conference of the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers in May. The conference, organized by the Institute of Industrial Engineers, is comprised of two types of sessions: Applied Solutions, showcasing proven solutions and applications from industry, and the Industrial & Systems Engineering Research Conference (ISERC), featuring research from academia and industry scholars. The ISERC, is also a forum for exchanging knowledge and discoveries in the industrial and systems engineering research community featuring industry exhibits and workshops, and student poster sessions.

During the conference students received several awards. Liliana Delgado Hidalgo, doctoral student, received the John L. Imhoff Scholarship for the 2016-17 academic year. The $1,000 award is available to students pursuing an industrial engineering degree who; by academic, employment and/or professional achievements, has made noteworthy contributions to the development of the industrial engineering profession through international understanding.

Other awards included:

  • Receiving a Best Paper award in the Facility Logistics Track, for their paper The Dynamic Block Stacking Problem with Random Demand, were Hu Eon Lee, doctoral student; Shengfan Zhang, assistant professor; and John White, chancellor emeritus and Distinguished professor.
  • Payam Parsa, doctoral student, received 3rd Place in the Doctoral Colloquium Poster Presentations for his poster: Quantifying the Benefits of Continuous Replenishment Program for Partner Selection. Payam is advised by professor Manuel Rossetti.
  • Alireza Zadeh, doctoral student, received the 2016 NSF Student Travel Grant Award. He is advised by professor Manuel Rossetti.
  • Recognized with the award of Fellow at the conference, was Kevin McManus, an alumnus of the Industrial Engineering Department. McManus is a member of the Arkansas Academy of Industrial Engineering and is chief excellence officer for Great Systems! and an international trainer for the trademarked TapRooT.
  • Additionally, Rebecca Widrick of the Airforce Institute of Technology received the Graduate Research Award. Rebecca is advised by Sarah Nurre, assistant professor.



Tamara O. Ellenbecker, media specialist
Industrial Engineering

Camilla Shumaker, director of communications
College of Engineering


Three Walton Students Awarded Fleischer Scholarships

Hailye Williams, Alyssa Bradford and Madison Holmes have been awarded $10,000 scholarships, renewable for four years, to attend the Walton College through the Fleischer Scholars Program.

Ag Education's Shoulders a Chronicle of Higher Education 'Teaching Innovator'

Kate Shoulders uses video critiques of graduate projects to give students one-on-one recordings of her impressions and thought process.

Women's Giving Circle Celebrates Grant Awardees and Scholarship Recipients

At annual fall event, $100,000 was awarded to seven U of A programs, and a $25,000 Advance Arkansas scholarship gift was announced.

United We Win Enters Final Weeks of Campaign with Social Media Drive

$1United 24 hour drive starts 7 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 24. -- and there's still time  to turn in donor cards or make an online contribution;

Conway Project Wins LafargeHolcim Acknowledgement Award

The U of A Community Design Center and Office for Sustainability collaborated on urban watershed framework plan.

Newswire Daily