White Receives Distinguished Alumni Award from Virginia Tech

John A. White, Jr.
University Relations

John A. White, Jr.

John A. White Jr., chancellor emeritus and Distinguished Professor of industrial engineering, was honored with the Marvin H. Agee Distinguished Alumni Award from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. The award was given at the biannual Academy of Distinguished Alumni Banquet of the Grado Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering on April 25.

The Marvin H. Agee Distinguished Alumni Award is the highest honor bestowed by the department, and is named in honor of the late Professor Agee who died in 1992. White is the thirteenth recipient of the award.

White earned a bachelor's degree in industrial engineering from the University of Arkansas in 1962 and master's degree from Virginia Tech in 1966. He received a doctorate from the Ohio State University in 1970. He has received numerous honors during his career, including the Frank and Lillian Gilbreth Industrial Engineering Award from IISE, one of the highest honors given to those in the engineering field. He also received the Distinguished Service Award from the National Science Foundation and Teacher of the Year Award at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He is currently a member of the Board of Directors for J.B. Hunt Transport Services Inc.

 White Recieves Distinguished Alumni Award

Read about the full event in the Roanoke Times.



Tamara O. Ellenbecker, media specialist
Industrial Engineering
479-575-3157, tellenbe@uark.edu

Camilla Shumaker, director of communications
College of Engineering
479-575-5697, camillas@uark.edu


Three Walton Students Awarded Fleischer Scholarships

Hailye Williams, Alyssa Bradford and Madison Holmes have been awarded $10,000 scholarships, renewable for four years, to attend the Walton College through the Fleischer Scholars Program.

Ag Education's Shoulders a Chronicle of Higher Education 'Teaching Innovator'

Kate Shoulders uses video critiques of graduate projects to give students one-on-one recordings of her impressions and thought process.

Women's Giving Circle Celebrates Grant Awardees and Scholarship Recipients

At annual fall event, $100,000 was awarded to seven U of A programs, and a $25,000 Advance Arkansas scholarship gift was announced.

United We Win Enters Final Weeks of Campaign with Social Media Drive

$1United 24 hour drive starts 7 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 24. -- and there's still time  to turn in donor cards or make an online contribution;

Conway Project Wins LafargeHolcim Acknowledgement Award

The U of A Community Design Center and Office for Sustainability collaborated on urban watershed framework plan.

Newswire Daily