U of A Alumna McDaniel Wins Miss Arkansas Pageant

Miss Arkansas Loren McDaniel, center, with runners-up, from left, Jacey Winn, Brejamin Perkins, Bailey Moses and Claudia Raffo.
Photo courtesy of the Miss Arkansas Pageant

Miss Arkansas Loren McDaniel, center, with runners-up, from left, Jacey Winn, Brejamin Perkins, Bailey Moses and Claudia Raffo.

HOT SPRINGS, Ark. - University of Arkansas alumna Loren McDaniel won the title of Miss Arkansas 2015 on Saturday night at the 78th Miss Arkansas Scholarship Pageant. The pageant took place Saturday at the Bank of the Ozarks Arena in Hot Springs in front of a crowd of more than 2,500 people.

McDaniel, who is from Van Buren and competed at the pageant as Miss Northwest Arkansas won a $20,000 scholarship provided by Ted and Shannon Boy Skokos, Citgo and the Miss Arkansas Scholarship Foundation and more than $75,000 in awards, wardrobe, transportation, and gifts. McDaniel will represent Arkansas at the 2016 Miss America Pageant in Atlantic City and will make appearances across the Natural State promoting the Children's Miracle Network, the Arkansas Children's Hospital, her personal platform of "Confidently You" and speaking in support of the goals of the Miss Arkansas and Miss America system.

McDaniel was crowned by the outgoing Miss Arkansas, Ashton Campbell, who is from Hindsville and is a University of Arkansas student.

Among those watching the festivities was Donna Axum Whitworth, a University of Arkansas alumna who was Miss Arkansas 1963 and Miss America 1964.

More than $86,000 in scholarships were awarded Saturday night to various contestants in decisions made by a panel of five judges.

McDaniel is a 2015 graduate of the University of Arkansas. She was theater major. For her talent selection she performed a vocal to "Piece of Sky." She is the 22-year old daughter of Kevin and Melissa McDaniel of Van Buren.

Other awards won by McDaniel included the Overall Interview Award, Service Before Self Award and Children's Miracle Network Miracle Maker.

The other top five finalists were:

  • 1st runner-up (receiving a $10,000 scholarship sponsored by Charles and Susie Morgan): Miss Ouachita River Bailey Moses.
  • 2nd runner-up (receiving a $7,000 scholarship sponsored by the Miss Arkansas Scholarship Foundation): University of Arkansas Brejamin Perkins, a 2015 U of A graduate who majored in broadcast journalism.
  • 3rd runner up (receiving a $6,000 scholarship sponsored by Former Miss Arkansas Association): Miss Northeast Arkansas Claudia Raffo.
  • 4th runner-up: (receiving at $5,000 scholarship sponsored by Scott Heffington / Miss Arkansas Scholarship Foundation): Miss Arkansas Valley Jacey Winn, a sophomore majoring in political science.

Awards going to other competitors with connections to the University of Arkansas:

  • Laura Russell, Miss North Little Rock and a a junior majoring in broadcast journalism and political science. She was awarded the Sharon Evans Bale We Are More Scholarship, $1,000 provided by Bill Tarkington and Mike Spivey.
  • Jennifer Nottenkamper, Miss Lake Dardanelle and a 2013 U of A graduate who majored in health education. She won the People's Choice, a $1,000 scholarship provided by Miss Arkansas Pageant.
  • Maggie Benton, Miss Heart of the Ozarks and a junior majoring in communication and journalism. She received the Dreamer Scholarship, $250 provided by Simone Mullinax.

Toni Bahn, communications
Miss Arkansas Pageant
479-575-8618, tbahn@uark.edu


New Band History Display on View in Silas Hunt Hall

Created in partnership with the U of A Museum, Razorback Band Alumni Society and the U of A Bands, the exhibit opens just in time for the program's 150th anniversary in 2024.

New Study Finds That Male Pathology Drives Avian Epidemic Dynamics

A combination of experimental data and transmission modeling demonstrated that male-biased pathology makes male canaries more likely to transmit disease than females. 

Study Links Political Civility to the Productivity of State Legislatures

Two U of A political scientists anticipated they would find a connection between legislative civility and performance, but the strength of this link proved surprising.

U of A Speech and Debate Places First in Final Tournament of Semester

The U of A Speech and Debate Society won its first sweepstakes award during its final fall competition at the University of Jamestown as well as 10 team awards and numerous individual awards.

Raquel Castro Salas Honored With November Cordes Chair Award by Teaching and Faculty Center

Raquel Castro Salas, teaching assistant professor of Spanish, was honored with the Cordes Chair for her commitment to advancing service learning in her Spanish classes.

News Daily