2015 Teaching Improvement Grant Awards

The Teaching and Faculty Support Center is pleased to announce the faculty who were awarded funding in the 2015 TFSC-sponsored teaching improvement grant competition.

A total of 21 grant proposals were received from faculty across campus representing 20 departments or units. After review of the proposals, notification of funding was made on Feb. 11 to the following faculty:

Teaching Improvement Grant Awards (up to $2,000 each)

  • Natalie Becknell and Michelle Bernhardt (Engineering – Civil Engineering)
    3D Printed Models in the Classroom to Aid Learning and Improve Spatial Visualization Skills
  • Geffrey Davis (Fulbright College – English)
    Angling in Literature and Culture
  • Michelle Gray (Education and Health Professions – Health, Human Performance and Recreation)
    Reducing Ageism through Simulation Training and Service-Learning
  • Laurence Hare (Fulbright College – History)
    Prepoaring Students for Major Success: Integrating Perspectives Core and Departmental Curricular Goals
  • Shanda Hood, Jana Gastineau, and Gretchen Thompson (Fulbright College – Mathematics Resource and Teaching Center)
    Training for Supplementary Instruction Supervisors
  • Sophie Janicke (Fulbright College – Communication)
    Social and Emotional Learning in Higher Ed
  • Phoebe Lickwar (Fay Jones School – Landscape Architecture) and Jennifer Webb (Fay Jones School – Interior Design)
    Wearable Cameras as Instructional Tools
  • Catherine Shoulders (Bumpers College – Agricultural Education, Communications, and Technology)
    Essays for Education: A Preservice Teacher Pilot Reading Program

A stipulation of each grant awarded is a plan for sharing outcomes with the University of Arkansas faculty.  Look for more details in academic year 2015-16.

Please join the Teaching and Faculty Support Center in congratulating and supporting these award winners.


Lori Libbert, special events manager
Teaching and Faculty Support Center
479-575-3222, tfsc@uark.edu


Climate Change Could Affect Fish in Buffalo River in Competing Ways

The smallmouth bass population might be boosted slightly or reduced substantially, depending on temperatures and rainfall.

5 Reasons to Study Abroad in Costa Rica

This relatively small country offers something for all students, whether it is the bustling metropolis of San José, lush rainforests, active volcanoes or the sunny beaches.

Journalist and Professor Dale Carpenter Honored with Ernie Deane Award

The top Arkansas award for valor in journalism recognizes those who exemplify the spirit, style and courage of its namesake, Ernie Deane.

Special Holiday Ticket Offers for UA Faculty and Staff

In appreciation for your service, Razorback Athletics is excited to offer University of Arkansas faculty and staff a special savings on Razorback basketball games during the holiday season.

Experts Set to Discuss Economy at 25th Business Forecast Luncheon

Three top economists will discuss the regional, national and international outlook at the annual Business Forecast luncheon.

Newswire Daily