Two U of A Students Selected as Truman Scholarship Finalists

Grant Addison and Hilary Zedlitz.
Photo Submitted

Grant Addison and Hilary Zedlitz.

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Two University of Arkansas juniors, Grant Addison of Cabot and Hilary Zedlitz of Rogers, have been selected as finalists for the 2015 Harry S. Truman Scholarship. This is the fourth straight year that multiple University of Arkansas students have been named Truman finalists and in three of those years a finalist received the scholarship.

"Grant Addison and Hilary Zedlitz are accomplished students who have made incredible contributions to our campus and to the Fayetteville community,” said Sharon Gaber, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs. “They are very deserving of this recognition. Truman Scholarship leaders look for students who will be agents of change, and they could not do better than Hilary and Grant, who have already made a difference in many ways, for many people, and will continue to do so throughout their careers."

Truman Scholars are selected based on a commitment to public service and are awarded $30,000 in scholarship funds to attend graduate or law school. The application process is rigorous and often requires more than 50 hours to complete. Truman Scholars will be announced in mid-April. 


Addison is an honors history and political science double major with minors in theatre and medieval and renaissance studies. He is an active leader in campus politics, having served in both College Republicans and Associated Student Government. Through his service on the Student Alumni Board, Addison helped organize the 2014 Homecoming Blood Drive, which collected nearly 1,000 units of blood. As a member of the Distinguished Lecturers Committee, Addison helped bring speakers such as former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice and scientist Bill Nye to Fayetteville. 

After completing his studies at the University of Arkansas, Addison will pursue graduate degrees in law and public policy. He would like to work in the Department of Education or an education-focused non-profit organization early in his career and then return to Arkansas and serve in a position that allows him to work with education policy in the state.

“I am excited and humbled at the honor of being named a Truman Finalist,” said Addison. “The opportunity to represent my family and the University of Arkansas in such a prestigious capacity is one that I will forever cherish. It is my hope that this award will further my abilities to effect positive change in our society and world.”


Zedlitz is an honors political science and Middle East studies double major with minors in economics and Arabic. She is engaged through the Volunteer Action Center Board, serving as the board’s volunteer coordinator for the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. In addition, Zedlitz is also active in campus organizations such as Young Democrats of Arkansas, Emerging Leaders, and the Honors Advisory Council. In the summer of 2014, she served as an intern in the U.S. Department of State’s Foreign Service Institute. Zedlitz also participated in the University of Arkansas’ community development project in Belize in the summer of 2013.

After completing a bachelor’s degree at the University of Arkansas, Zedlitz plans to pursue graduate studies in international affairs or public administration. She eventually hopes to work with the U.S. Department of State to address refugee issues in the Middle East and in North Africa. 

“It’s an incredible honor to represent the University of Arkansas as a finalist for the Truman Scholarship,” Zedlitz said. “The application process has not only pushed me to learn more about myself, it has also enriched my understanding of the role public service plays in our community and our world. With the Truman Scholarship, I will be able to continue my education in international affairs and explore how states can better address humanitarian issues such as refugee crises and universal education.”

University of Arkansas students who are interested in applying for the Truman Scholarship should contact the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards at

About U of A Truman Scholars: Recent University of Arkansas Truman Scholars include Cicely Shannon, economics, 2014; Nathan Coulter, political science, 2013; Mike Norton, agricultural business and poultry science, 2012; Olivia Meeks, political science and economics, 2008; Dwayne Bensing, political science, 2006; and Catherine St. Clair, international business, 2005. Seventeen University of Arkansas students have been Truman Scholars, and in 2002, the University of Arkansas received the Truman Honor Institution Award for its commitment to assisting students interested in a career in public service.

About the University of Arkansas: The University of Arkansas provides an internationally competitive education for undergraduate and graduate students in more than 200 academic programs. The university contributes new knowledge, economic development, basic and applied research, and creative activity while also providing service to academic and professional disciplines. The Carnegie Foundation classifies the University of Arkansas among only 2 percent of universities in America that have the highest level of research activity. U.S. News & World Report ranks the University of Arkansas among its top American public research universities. Founded in 1871, the University of Arkansas comprises 10 colleges and schools and maintains a low student-to-faculty ratio that promotes personal attention and close mentoring.


Suzanne McCray, director
Office of Nationally Competitive Awards

Steve Voorhies, manager, media relations
University Relations


Kayleb Rae Candrilli, 2023-24 Walton Visiting Writer in Poetry, to Read in Fayetteville

Candrilli will read from their work at 7 p.m. Thursday in the Home Economics Auditorium, room 0102, as the 2023-24 Walton Visiting Writer in Poetry.

Gender Studies Program's Third Annual Bridge Fellows Program

The Bridge Fellows Program is designed to support graduate research on gender issues in any department or college for the spring semester.

Gavin Miller Selected as September's Student Leader of the Month

Gavin Miller, an honors junior from Bryant who is studying public health and biology, has been selected as the Student Leader of the Month for August. 

U of A Health Plans Add RSV Vaccines to Medical Coverage Options

The U of A System Office has announced that eligible U of A employees will soon have access to Respiratory Syncytial Virus Infection vaccines covered with no out-of-pocket expense through United Medical Resources. 

Linking Belonging to a Transformational Workforce

The lecture and networking sessions are for senior leaders and human resource partners to engage with Dr. Charles Barber on the importance of linking belonging and leveraging diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging in a transformative workforce.

News Daily