Animal Science Faculty Member Honored With Merit Award

Dirk Philipp
Photo Submitted

Dirk Philipp

Dirk Philipp, associate professor of animal science, was recently honored with a Merit Award for his work in sustainable forage production and livestock management to minimize environmental impact. The award was presented by the American Forage and Grassland Council.

According to the council: "The Merit Award is presented to individuals who have made outstanding contributions in some phase of forage and grassland agriculture. Nominees must also have earned recognition from their colleagues in public service or private industry for contributions in support of some phase of forage and grassland agriculture in research, teaching, extension, industrial development, production or service."

Merit recipients are nominated by their peers. Philipp was presented with his award in mid-January at the council's annual awards banquet, and was one of four Merit Award winners for 2015.

"I feel honored by the award because AFGC is the leading organization for forage practitioners, industry, and scientists and I do appreciate having been nominated by close colleagues," Philipp said.

Philipp is an associate professor in the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture, Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural Food and Life Science's Department of Animal Science. He received his doctorate from Texas Tech University, and his research focus is on the design and implementation of a research and extension program in improved forage utilization and grazing management related to increased profitability and water quality, especially in the nutrient surplus areas of Northwest Arkansas.

"I congratulate Dirk on this well-deserved award. He has a very active research and extension program that emphasizes forage utilization, grazing management, and environmental impacts of livestock production. To be recognized by the American Forage and Grassland Council, a group of peers, is paramount in one's career," said Michael Looper, head of the Department of Animal Science.


Jamie Newberry,
Animal Science


Free Public Reading by Julie Buntin and Gabe Habash

Julie Buntin and Gabe Habash, the 2019-20 Walton Visiting Writers in Fiction, will give readings of their work at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Nov.19th, in Gearhart Hall, 0026 on the U of A campus.

Voice Students Advance to Finals in NATS Competition

Voice students Dennese Adkins, Sophia Chiocco, Gloria Deveraux, Kyle Forehand, Ethan Godfrey, Mickel Gordon and Stacee Lyles qualified for national competition at Knoxville, Tennessee.

Chancellor Releases Third Installment of 2020: Focus on the Future Series

Chancellor Joe Steinmetz' third action item details how the university should be the graduate school of choice for students seeking to diversify and amplify their educational outcomes. 

Mullins Library Hosts The Un-Quiet on Friday, Nov. 22

Beginning at 6 p.m. Friday, Nov. 22, the campus is invited to make some entertaining noise on the third and fourth floor of Mullins Library before they are closed for renovation.

Transit and Parking Is Hosting a Campus Food Drive

Transit and Parking is taking the lead on a November and December food drive and is setting up sites on campus to collect items, starting on Monday, Nov. 18.

Newswire Daily