2010 Class of Sturgis Fellows Selected at University of Arkansas

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The 2010 class of Sturgis Fellows are Mathias Bellaiche of Fayetteville, Ark.; Toby Bothwell of Oklahoma City, Okla.; Brandon Butler of West Memphis, Ark.; Ali Jewell of Little Rock, Ark.; and Karina Sanders of Hot Springs, Ark.

“This class of Sturgis Fellows once again represents some of the most accomplished students in Arkansas and in the world. They are National Merit semifinalists, extraordinary volunteers in their communities and exemplary students,” said William Schwab, dean of the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Arkansas.

The Sturgis Fellowship is unique from other university fellowships and scholarships because it requires the students to pursue a major in Fulbright College. Moreover, the students must complete the rigorous Scholars Program and graduate with honors.

“This year’s class, like those before them, are articulate and informed, bringing an enthusiasm for learning to every class they take. As always, we are enormously grateful to the Sturgis Trust for allowing us to attract such outstanding students to the university,” said Schwab.

The Sturgis Fellowship is made possible by an endowment from the Roy and Christine Sturgis Charitable Trust of the Bank of America. Each Sturgis Fellow receives $50,000, or $12,500 per year, making the Sturgis among the most generous scholarships offered at the University of Arkansas. The fellowship pays for tuition, room and board, and provides discretionary funds for computers, musical instruments, professional journals and trips to conferences. The trust has also endowed a second program, the Sturgis Honors Scholars Grants, which fund research and study abroad programs for non-Sturgis Fellows enrolled in the college’s Honors Program.

 “As with every year, the talented pool of students we interviewed this year was very deep indeed, and so our choices were difficult; the spectrum of talent was a wide one, and this diversity is amply represented by this wonderful group. All of us are looking forward to their arrival here on campus,” said Sidney Burris, director of Honors Studies.

Mathias Bellaiche plans to pursue a degree in biochemistry and enter medical school after graduation. He also is interested in studying psychology and Spanish. He is a member of the Junior Statesmen of America, the Fayetteville Fencing Club, the United States Fencing Association, the National Honor Society, the Ozark Philharmonic Youth Orchestra and the Quiz Bowl. He is a National Merit semifinalist. His parents are Laurent and Sheila Bellaiche.

Toby Bothwell plans to major in chemistry. He is a member of the National Honors Society and Key Club. He plans to run for the track team at the university. While in high school, he was on the cross country, track and swimming teams and pursued research on the effects of bio char source on plant growth in Brassica rapa and winter wheat. A National Merit semifinalist, he is the son of James and Cindy Bothwell.

Brandon Butler will major in English, creative writing and Spanish. He was a Quiz Bowl captain, president of the English Club, and a member of Arkansas Boy’s State, the Chess Club, Drama Club and choir. He won the leadership award from Beta Club. His mother is Beverly Butler.

Ali Jewell will pursue a degree in psychology. She was cheerleading squad captain and a member of Beta Club and the Language Council. She has served as a teacher’s aide at St. James Learning Center, Francis Allen School and Franklin Elementary. Her parents are Debra Duree-Jewell and Barry Jewell.

Karina Sanders plans to pursue a biology degree and enter medical school after graduation. She is a member of the dance team, the Spanish Honor Society, the Student Council and the Beta Club. A certified SCUBA diver, she volunteers for the American Cancer Society, Habitat for Humanity and the Charitable Christian Medical Clinic. A national merit semifinalist, she is the daughter of Ed and Donna Sanders.


Sidney Burris, director
Fulbright College Honors Program
479-575-3599, sburris@uark.edu


Groundbreaking for Fine Arts Center Restoration Nov. 29

The U of A will host a groundbreaking ceremony for the restoration of the Fine Arts Center at 11 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 29, at the courtyard off Garland Avenue. The event is free and open to the public.

Ranch Horse Team Goes from Stock Horse of Texas World Show Reserve Champ to Overall Title

The U of A ranch horse team won the overall Division II collegiate title at this year's event in October, and student Jessica Bookout won the reserve all-around championship.

Honors College Recognizes Exceptional Faculty

The Honors College will recognize eight faculty members at the annual Honors College Faculty Reception from 5:30-7 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 6, in the Fowler House Conservatory.

Malloy, Shumaker, Kelley Win Hoyt Purvis Awards for Aiding International Programs

Sarah Malloy of the Office of Study Abroad, Camilla Shumaker of ITS and Christopher Kelley of the School of Law were honored with the Hoyt Purvis Award for their service to the field of international education.

Joe Hatfield, Communication Faculty Member, Wins Dissertation of the Year Award

Hatfield's dissertation merges multiple methodological frameworks to analyze the mediated history of trans suicide, with a focus on the 2014 suicide of 17-year-old Leelah Alcorn.

News Daily