University Enforcing Campus Clean Air Act

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – A new state law went into effect Aug. 1 prohibiting smoking on campuses of all public institutions of higher education in Arkansas, with penalties of $100 to $500 per violation. The University of Arkansas enacted a tobacco free policy in July, 2008, but the state law means that University of Arkansas Police officers can and will write tickets to anyone caught smoking on campus property. UAPD officials have indicated that they will issue warnings, not tickets, for at least the first month the law is in effect. The majority of students return to campus beginning Aug. 16.

The University of Arkansas campus was one of the first major institutions of higher education in the country to prohibit tobacco use on all campus property. The tobacco free policy was announced one year in advance of it being put into effect on July 1, 2008. And the policy was designed to encourage compliance and change the culture of smoking on campus. This policy, which prohibits all tobacco use including smokeless tobacco, remains in effect.

Violators of the state “Clean Air On Campus Act of 2009” will be subject to a fine of not less than $100 and no more than $500. This law will be enforced through citations issued by University of Arkansas Police officers.

The new law, like the tobacco-free policy, applies to everyone on the University of Arkansas campus, students, faculty, staff and visitors.


Scott Flanagin, executive director of communications
Division of Student Affairs


Physicist, Non-Profits Build and Test Air Purifiers That Remove COVID Particles

With contributions from Facilities Management, Arkansas Research Alliance, Innovate Arkansas, Startup Junkie and the NWA Council, the project will help make classrooms safer.

U of A to Observe Disability Awareness Month With Series of Webinars

The U of A will observe Disability Awareness Month during October with a series of webinars on topics related to disability awareness.

Department of Theatre Announces 2021 Kernodle New Play Winner

Playwright Gina Stevensen is this year’s winner for her play Book of Esther, about a woman struggling to find her voice within her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family in Brooklyn.

Law Professor Sharon Foster to Lecture on the Birth of Competition Law

Foster’s lecture will discuss early economic thought regarding cartels and monopolies, from Mesopotamia into the Middle Ages.

Film Appreciation Society Sponsors Rare Screening of 'All Quiet on the Western Front'

The Film Appreciation Society in the Department of Communication will screen the silent anti-war film classic All Quiet on the Western Front at 7 p.m., Tuesday, Sept. 21, at the Faulkner Performing Arts Center.

News Daily