Seventy-One Seniors Honored by Alumni Association

The Arkansas Alumni Association selected 71 Seniors of Significance from among 400 nominations.
Photo by Whit Pruitt, University Relations

The Arkansas Alumni Association selected 71 Seniors of Significance from among 400 nominations.

The Arkansas Alumni Association honored its third class of Seniors of Significance during a reception at the Janelle Y. Hembree Alumni House on Dec. 2. Seventy-one graduating seniors, commemorating the university's founding date of 1871, were recognized along with their faculty or staff mentor. During the reception, the Seniors of Significance received a gold special honor cord to wear during graduation.

The 71 students were selected from more than 400 nominations and represent each University of Arkansas undergraduate academic college. These are exceptional seniors who were selected based on academic achievement, leadership skills and substantial extracurricular campus and/or community activities. Though mostly from Arkansas, they also represent eight other states and two countries.

This year celebrates the 52nd year of honoring a senior male and female undergraduate through the Senior Honor Citation program, as well as the re-established Razorback Classics program. Only students selected as Seniors of Significance have the opportunity to update their application in the 2017 spring semester to be further considered for these awards.


Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences

  • Lauren Cheevers – Fayetteville
  • Taylor Farr – West Memphis
  • Austin Hamm* – Elkins
  • Victoria Maloch* – Magnolia
  • Niyah Phillips – Arlington, Texas
  • Sydney Simmons – Rector

Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design

  • Molly Evans – Conway
  • Caitlin Malloy – Bentonville

J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences

  • Maggie Benton – Jonesboro
  • Courtney Brooks – Rogers
  • Bradey  Chambers – Cabot
  • Madison Cole* – Conway
  • Shelby   Cormack – Van Buren
  • Alexander Crawford* – Edmond, Oklahoma
  • Weston Grant* – Plano, Texas
  • Blake Griffin – Mountain Home
  • Katie Hicks* – Conway
  • Anna Kay Hilburn – Kennett, Missouri
  • Antonio Igbokidi – Little Rock
  • Eric Janise – The Woodlands, Texas
  • Moses Kingsley – Abuja, Nigeria
  • Darbie Kuykendall – Clarksville
  • Erin Nelson* – Hackett
  • Parker Pocklington^ – Centralia, Washington
  • Will Pohlman*^ – Prairie Grove
  • Patricia Ramos* – Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Ariel Romero* – Fayetteville
  • Thomas Selig*^ – Hot Springs
  • Nezly Silva* – Springdale
  • Alex Smith – Russellville
  • Nancy Smith – Marianna
  • Paige Walker – Little Rock

Sam M. Walton College of Business

  • Andrew Bingham* – Little Rock
  • Kimber Changose* – Little Rock
  • Connor Cook – Dallas, Texas
  • Hayden Coussens* – Overland Park, Kansas
  • Caroline Dominick* – North Little Rock
  • Brandon Downer – Austin, Texas
  • Connor Flocks – Greenwood
  • Andrea Kathol* – Fayetteville
  • Mackenzie Lantefield – Leawood, Kansas
  • Justin McVeigh* – Frisco, Texas
  • Paulina Moya* – Santiago, Chile
  • Wesley Prewett* – Russellville
  • Summar Roachell – Conway
  • Jonathan Schultz* – Little Rock
  • Julianne Seykora*^ – Flower Mound, Texas
  • Makenzie Smith* – Longview, Texas
  • Jacob Stansell* – Little Rock
  • Nick Stauffer^ – Lenexa, Kansas
  • Christine Tan* – Fayetteville
  • Kathryn Theriot* – White Hall
  • Margaret Tirrell^ – Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Amanda Wellick – Wheaton, Illinois

College of Education and Health Professions

  • Brooklyn Brown – Shreveport, Louisiana
  • Natalie Koster – Bartlesville, Oklahoma
  • Jake Smith* – Paragould
  • Clark Story – Marion
  • Emily Sugg* – Berryville
  • Madeline Wagnon* – Shreveport, Louisiana

College of Engineering

  • Salma Boudhoum – Agadir, Morocco
  • Claudia Chavez – Siloam Springs
  • Lionel Davis II – Little Rock
  • Emily Degner* – Leawood, Kansas
  • Ashleigh Hegwood* – McKinney, Texas
  • Mason Hollis* – Fayetteville
  • Courtney Hunter* – White Hall
  • Mark Kelloms – Haskell
  • Keturah Kiper – Denver, Colorado
  • Danielle Neighbour* – Lenexa, Kansas
  • Britney Washington – Little Rock

*Indicates the student is a member of the Honors College
^Indicates the student is pursuing degrees within two Colleges


Ashley C. Batchelor, assistant director of communications
Arkansas Alumni Association


Tyson Family Adds $1 Million Gift During Dedication of Iconic Research Building

John Tyson, chairman of Tyson Foods, announced a new gift during dedication ceremonies for the new Don Tyson Center for Agricultural Sciences.

U of A Faculty, Staff, Students Present Research at National Association Meeting

University of Arkansas faculty and staff members and graduate students took part recently in the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education annual conference in Memphis.

Exercise Science Doctoral Students to Talk About Their Research Friday

Wesley Haynie and Hyun-Gyu "Sean" Suh, doctoral students in exercise science, will give research presentations from 3 to 4 p.m. Friday, Nov. 17, in HPER 311.

MyDocs, Gizmo, SharePoint and Other Services Affected by Weekend Maintenance

On Saturday morning, MyDocs, Gizmo, SharePoint and other systems relying on the SQL server will be briefly interrupted during routine Windows Server maintenance.

Participants Needed for Study Examining Effect of Diet on Health in Families

The Department of Food Science is recruiting families, defined as at least one parent/guardian, with at least one child between the ages of 6-12 years to participate in a nutrition study.

Newswire Daily