Results for the 2017-18 Staff Senate Elections

Please join the Staff Senate in congratulating this year's newly and re-elected staff senators! These senators will be serving three-year terms beginning July 1. Staff Senate appreciates the people who step up and take on the added responsibilities of serving the community of staff on this campus as the Senate is transitioning on so many different fronts involving the staff concerns of salary, benefits, and parking, among other things.

Staff Senate was pleased to see that there was a total of 1,275 recorded responses/votes. This is double what they had last year! The community benefits with maximum engagement. Please continue to make your voices heard as the Staff Senate begins the new year of hard work ahead.

Here are the results:

At Large

  • Lisa Frye
  • Allen Lee Porter

Academic Affairs

  • Cedar Claire Middleton
  • Michael Rau
  • Elizabeth McKinley
  • Sara Beth Spencer-Bynum


  • Derrick Hartberger

Finance & Administration

  • Elon Turner
  • Alex Booth

Get to know your staff senators! Read more about this round of new senators.

Staff Senate is the campus governance group which represents and advocates for staff employees on the Fayetteville campus. As the representative voice for staff on policy matters such as benefits, parking, campus safety, working conditions and compensation, the Senate functions as an advisory and policy-referral body to the administration and staff. When changes happen that can affect staff, your representatives continuously advocate for the best possible scenario in each case.

Annually, the Staff Senate coordinates employee recognition programs such as Employee of the Quarter, Employee of the Year, the Outstanding Staff Team Award, the Part-Time Employee Award, Staff Appreciation Week and the annual Staff Appreciation Picnic. The Staff Senate also manages the Staff Scholarship program awarding scholarships to staff pursuing a degree at the University of Arkansas.  Our scholarship program is generously matched by Chancellor Joe Steinmetz, which has enabled us to award a record number of scholarships to staff.

Staff Senate holds monthly meetings at 9:30 a.m. on the second Thursday and anyone is welcome to attend. Only by staying engaged and keeping the staff voices heard at all times can the Staff Senate work together toward a better environment for all staff at the University of Arkansas. To learn more about Staff Senate, visit or follow us on Facebook or Twitter.


Denise Rene Bignar, elections chair
Staff Senate

Charlie Alison, executive editor
University Relations


Alumni Association Announces the Razorback Classics Class of 2018

The Razorback Classics awards are an integral part of the Senior Awards Program of the Arkansas Alumni Association.

Fort Valley State University to Honor U of A's Boss, Kvamme

Steve Boss, professor of geosciences, and Jo Ann Kvamme, assistant director for the environmental dynamics graduate program, will be honored by Fort Valley State

American Creed Film Screening Intended to Spark Community Conversations

American Creed, a documentary about working across divides to realize American ideals, will be shown from 5:15 to 8:15 p.m. March 1 in the Gearhart Hall Auditorium

Potential Transfer Students Visit Walton College and Learn About Programs, Resources, Curriculum

Forty potential transfer students from NorthWest Arkansas Community College visited the Walton College of Business to learn about programs, resources and curriculum in the college.

New Research: Young Sailors More Dehydrated as Competition Continued

Stavros Kavouras, professor of exercise science, and graduate student Adam Seal worked with colleagues to study hydration in young elite sailors during a multi-day competition.

Newswire Daily