Law Professor and Four Students Acknowledged by United Nations

Four University of Arkansas School of Law students participated in the University IIA Mapping Project, a collaborative initiative between the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development and universities worldwide to create a database that will help development policy makers understand trends over time in drafting international investment agreements.

Second-year students Luke Brasuell and Elizabeth Kanopsic, third-year student Liliana Vasquez and LL.M. candidate Saad A. Alotaibi were trained and supervised by Uché Ewelukwa Ofodile, Arkansas Bar Foundation Professor of Law. The U.N. Conference on Trade and Development provided logistical assistance.

International investment agreements, known as IIAs, typically address issues regarding cross-border investments, such as their protection, promotion and liberalization between countries. The U.N. Conference on Trade and Development was created to support developing countries and help them more fairly and effectively access the benefits of a globalized economy. The mapping project is intended to create a comprehensive database of IIAs, which will contribute to the conference's ongoing policy analysis and policy recommendations.

The students participated in the sixth segment of mappings, which took four months to complete (September-December 2016) and included roughly 150 law students from 27 universities based in 20 countries. The students worked in pairs with a student from another country. Together, the group mapped about 900 international investment agreements.

U of A law students received certificates of recognition from the U.N. Conference on Trade and Development and their names are published on the conference's website. Ewelukwa Ofodile also received recognition on the website. She remains involved in the project and will soon begin recruiting students for the next round of mapping.


Darinda Sharp, director of communications
School of Law

Editor-selected comments will be published below. No abusive material, personal attacks, profanity, spam or material of a similar nature will be considered for publication.

comments powered by Disqus


Freshman Pep Rally Scheduled for Aug. 24

The nationally recognized "Best Campus Tradition" will be held in Razorback Stadium. Gates open at 8:15 p.m. and the pep rally starts at 9. All incoming students are invited.

Engineering Professor Selected as Associate Editor of Nanotechnology Journal

Donald Keith Roper, associate professor of chemical engineering, has been named associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology.

A Solar Eclipse of the Heartland: Campus Celebration Planned for Today

A rare solar eclipse coincides with the first day of classes at the U of A; ASG cook-out, free glasses and Fay Jones events are on the schedule. 

ASG Welcomes Students Back to Campus With Annual Cookout Today

The ASG Welcome Back Cookout is slated to start at 11 a.m. today on the Arkansas Union Mall, and features plain, kosher and veggie hot dogs, water and ASG items.

Wittmer Gift Results in Scholarship Opportunity for Engineering Students

Two contributions totaling more than $100,000 will create a scholarship for electrical engineering students and support Campaign Arkansas. 

Newswire Daily