Four From University of Arkansas Chosen as SEC Academic Leadership Development Fellows

Photo Submitted

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Four faculty members at the University of Arkansas have been selected as a 2015-16 SEC Academic Leadership Development Program fellows.

The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program is a professional development program that seeks to identify, prepare and advance academic leaders for roles within Southeastern Conference institutions and beyond.

The program has two components: a university-level development program designed by each institution for its own participants and two, three-day, SEC-wide workshops held on specified campuses for all program participants.

One of this year’s workshops will be October 5-7 at the University of Arkansas.

Representing the U of A as fellows are:

  • Jeff Murray, chair, Department of Marketing, Sam M. Walton College of Business
  • Heather Nachtmann, associate dean for research, College of Engineering
  • Carol Reeves, associate vice provost for entrepreneurship, and Department of Management, Walton College
  • Michael Riha, chair, Department of Theatre, Fulbright College

Overall, 50 faculty and administrators from SEC universities were chosen as 2015-16 SEC Academic Leadership Development Program fellows.

Since its inception in 2008, the fellowship program has graduated more than 270 faculty and academic administrators and program alumni have become deans and provosts at universities around the SEC and United States, including Laurence Alexander from the University of Florida’s 2012-13 cohort, who is currently chancellor at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff. 

The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program is part of SECU, the academic initiative of the SEC. SECU serves as the primary mechanism through which the collaborative academic endeavors and achievements of SEC universities are promoted and advanced.

A complete list of fellows can be found here.


Laura Jacobs, associate vice chancellor
University Relations


Alumni Association Announces the Razorback Classics Class of 2018

The Razorback Classics awards are an integral part of the Senior Awards Program of the Arkansas Alumni Association.

Fort Valley State University to Honor U of A's Boss, Kvamme

Steve Boss, professor of geosciences, and Jo Ann Kvamme, assistant director for the environmental dynamics graduate program, will be honored by Fort Valley State

American Creed Film Screening Intended to Spark Community Conversations

American Creed, a documentary about working across divides to realize American ideals, will be shown from 5:15 to 8:15 p.m. March 1 in the Gearhart Hall Auditorium

Potential Transfer Students Visit Walton College and Learn About Programs, Resources, Curriculum

Forty potential transfer students from NorthWest Arkansas Community College visited the Walton College of Business to learn about programs, resources and curriculum in the college.

New Research: Young Sailors More Dehydrated as Competition Continued

Stavros Kavouras, professor of exercise science, and graduate student Adam Seal worked with colleagues to study hydration in young elite sailors during a multi-day competition.

Newswire Daily